WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Olive Cheese Bread & Sopapilla Cheesecake February 6, 2012

Filed under: Bread/Muffins,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 11:20 am

Yesterday was the Super Bowl, which, for me, is just an excuse to eat junk since I couldn’t care less about football.  I asked Wayne what he wanted to eat, and he said “meatballs.”  Apparently this has become a Super Bowl theme, since he requested meatballs last year, too.  So I put some meatballs and BBQ sauce in the Crock Pot.  He didn’t have any suggestions for side dishes, so I decided to make some yummy Olive Cheese bread that I found on Pinterest.  We also had veggies and dip, mostly so I could say “at least we had some veggies.”

Olive Cheese Bread
I used half the butter, less cheese, and less olives than the recipe called for.  My loaf of bread was probably smaller than what the recipe calls for, though.  This was pretty tasty but I found it to be a little too salty from the olives.  Next time, I would cut WAY back on the olives and use them more as a secondary flavor.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I debated on whether or not to make a dessert since we were already eating meatballs and bread slathered with butter, mayo and cheese.  Well, as you can see, I made the damn dessert.  I also found this on Pinterest, and it was SOOO easy to make and SOOOOOOO delicious.

Sopapilla Cheesecake
I cut the recipe in half, and it fit perfectly in a 9×9″ pan.  I used reduced-fat crescents and reduced-fat cream cheese.  It’s not like that’s going to make it “healthy,” lol, but it helps a teeny bit.  I would recommend cutting back on the sugar in the cream cheese mixture even further because it was quite sweet with the full amount.  Also, this is best served at room temperature.  Don’t try to eat it hot unless you want to sear the roof of your mouth!  Not that I know from experience or anything….

 

 

Leave a comment