WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

SuperBowl, ShmooperBowl… February 6, 2011

Filed under: Beef,Pasta — WannaBe Chef @ 8:05 pm

I don’t get the hype of the Super Bowl.  I’ve never been a football fan… not even close, so I guess it’s just another game to me.  However, I always try to ask Wayne if he wants me to make anything special to eat.  Well, this year, without hesitation, he said “Sweet and Sour Meatballs”…. and “Macaroni and Cheese.”  Pretty random, but that’s what he wanted.  I picked out two recipes from cooks.com the other day and saved them.  Much to my frustration, when I went to retrieve them today, the site was down, so I had to find two new recipes.  Luckily, they both worked out beautifully. 

Sweet and Sour Meatballs
Recipe >>>HERE<<<  I only used 1/3 cup brown sugar.  I also used less pineapple and green peppers.  If we had these with rice, I would have probably used the whole amount.  Also, remember to whisk the sauce continuously because it thickens suddenly and quickly. 

I made my own meatballs:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 pounds ground beef (I went with regular instead of lean because I find that lean ground beef can make for a tough meatball.)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • heaping 1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • splash of olive oil and salt

Instructions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, mix well with hands.
  2. Form into meatballs – ours were probably 1 – 1.5″ across.
  3. Place into a deep skillet that’s been heating up with some olive oil.  Let brown on one side, then turn them a couple times until browned on most sides and cooked almost all the way through.
  4. Remove from pan and place on paper towel lined plate, set aside while you make the sauce. 

Alton Brown’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese
Recipe from >>>HERE<<<

I have to say, I felt kind of guilty while I was making this.  There’s a lot of cheese, a lot of butter, and a lot of starch in this puppy.  I have this thing where I literally feel greasy when I’m making something greasy.  So besides wanting to take a shower after making this, it was heavenly.  It also was a little time consuming, but worth it.

I did make a couple small adjustments to the recipe:

  • I used about 2 tsp regular yellow mustard because I didn’t have mustard powder.  I also added it later in the process instead of with the flour/butter.
  • I used 2 Tbsp butter instead of 3 Tbsp for the bread crumb topping.
  • I used skim milk. 
  • I added some Frank’s and lots of pepper to the sauce because it seemed a little bland. 
  • I managed to fit the whole batch into an 8×8″ glass baking dish.  I did put the dish on a foil-lined baking sheet in case it bubbled over, but it didn’t.
  • Another FYI:  It will seem like there’s waaay too much sauce to pasta when you combine them.  It will also seem like it’s still too thin and gooey when you take it out of the oven.  However, it will set up once it cools a little bit, trust me!  All that butter and cheese just needs to re-congeal :-p (is that a word??)
 

One Response to “SuperBowl, ShmooperBowl…”

  1. […] Apparently this has become a Super Bowl theme, since he requested meatballs last year, too.  So I put some meatballs and BBQ sauce in the Crock Pot.  He didn’t have any […]


Leave a Reply

