WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Sharing is caring April 13, 2011

Filed under: Beverage,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 9:20 am

I have lots of totally random stuff to share today.  Being toward the end of my pregnancy (only 9 weeks to go!), it should be getting more difficult to eat normal quantities of food, and for some women, the nausea of the first trimester returns.  Well, this has not been the case for me.  I still want to eat everything in sight, ugh!  I’m trying my best to resist the cravings for root beer floats, donuts, and onion rings.  I’m also craving beverages.  Water gets soooo boring after awhile.  So I found this tea at the store the other day and decided to try it.  It’s a little pricey, but it was a nice change.

I also came across a recipe for homemade iced coffee.  I’ve tried making my own iced coffee in the past, and it always tasted like crap.  Well, this recipe is totally a hit!  And I love that I don’t have to brew coffee to make this. 

Iced Coffee
Recipe >>>HERE<<<

I used decaf instant coffee and probably a little more than 6 oz of skim milk.

Remember how I just said I was craving onion rings?  I decided to make some “healthy” onion rings last night, hoping it would squash the craving.  These turned out pretty well!  Despite the super high oven temperature setting off our smoke detector, the rings turned out very crispy and tasty. 

Oven Baked Onion Rings
Adapted from recipe >>>HERE<<<

I used panko bread crumbs instead of potato chips, and I didn’t use anywhere near 4 cups (more like 1 cup).  I also skipped the flour/zip-lock bag step and just let the onions soak in the buttermilk mixture for an hour or so before breading them in the panko.

 

Leave a comment