WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Just Poppy-ing in! June 24, 2010

Filed under: Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 5:32 pm

Hello, my dears!  I hope you all liked my trilogy of posts about my weekend.  I just wanted to share one more thing I made…

Lemon Poppy Seed Snack Cake
Recipe found on an insert in a magazine (probably can be found on allbran.com)

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup all-purpose flour (I may have used half wheat flour, can’t remember!)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt (optional)
1 Tbsp poppy seeds
1 cup All-Bran Original or All-Bran Buds
1/4 cup fat-free milk
2 egg whites
3 Tbsp veg oil (I used 2 Tbsp applesauce + 1 Tbsp oil)
1 cup (8 oz) low-fat lemon yogurt
1 Tbsp lemon zest
1 tsp powdered sugar

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, salt and poppy seeds.  Set aside.
  2. In large bowl, combine cereal, milk, egg whites, oil, lemon zest, and yogurt.  Let sit for about 5 minutes or until cereal softens.  Add flour mixture and stir just until combined.  Spread evenly in 8×8 pan coated in cooking spray.
  3. Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool and dust with powdered sugar.  (I dusted mine twice, and it just melted into the cake both times.  Yes, it was completely cooled!) 

Light, lemony and not overly sweet!  Yum yum 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Just Poppy-ing in!”

  1. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh so delicious!

  2. This looks delish! I’ve never made poppy seed cake or muffins on my own, but I love to eat them when someone else makes them! I need to try on my own sometime!


Leave a comment