WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Soup and Sammie November 3, 2009

Filed under: Meatless,Sandwiches,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 9:27 pm

Yep, it’s another Rachael Ray recipe, and true to form, it did not disappoint.  I threw this together Sunday night after we got home from our Halloween adventures.  I used my stick blender, and it really made the soup thick and creamy.  Mmmm, way better than Campbell’s.   

Tomato Alphabet Soup with Parmesan Crisps
From HERE – click on the link for the recipe cuz I don’t feel like re-typing it 🙂  I used 2 Tbsp butter instead of 4… and made 2 small parm crisps instead of 4 big ones.  I also used orzo instead of alphabet pasta… and probably about 1/4 cup or so. 

IMG_0611

Uuuugh, horrible flash photogragh here. Stupid daylight savings...

Last night, I made falafel pitas.  The falafels were a boxed mix that required only water to be added.  I sauteed them in a frying pan and put them in pitas with alfalfa sprouts, tomatoes and homemade tzatziki sauce.  Mmmmmmmmmm, these were sooo, so good.  Totally took me straight back to my college days working at Pita Pit. 

Amanda’s Tzatziki Sauce
1 container plain Greek yogurt 
1 mini cucumber (diced small)
a splash of lemon juice 
minced cilantro, a Tbsp or 2
salt, pepper and cumin to taste

IMG_0613

 

Leave a comment