WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

A must-make meal June 30, 2010

Filed under: Meatless,Sandwiches — WannaBe Chef @ 6:28 pm

Let me start by saying how excited I am over this dinner.  I’ve been pretty uninspired with cooking lately, and this meal definitely recharged me!  I’ve had the recipe saved from Brandi’s blog for awhile now and finally got around to making it.  People, you must make this.  If you like falafel and sweet potatoes, you will be in heaven.  Not only are they healthy and easy to make, but they’re just about the cutest little things I’ve ever seen! 

Baked Sweet Potato Falafel
Recipe found HERE on Brandi’s blog Bran Appetit

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes, cooked and peeled
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp salt (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Mash sweet potatoes with chickpeas
  3. Add seasonings and flax, mash together
  4. Spray baking sheet or line with foil (I lined with foil and sprayed with cooking spray). Roll mixture into small patties and place on baking sheet (I got 28 baby patties).
  5. Brush or spray with olive oil
  6. Bake 25-30 minutes and let sit on baking sheet a few minutes before serving
  7. Serve on pitas with toppings such as tomato, lettuce, red onion, feta, tzatziki, and hot sauce!

Money shot! As you can see, I left some of the chickpeas whole 🙂

Seriously awesome, delicious, amazing, fantastic…. I was full, but this pita was so good, I probably could have had a whole second one.  I refrained but did go back for a couple of these little bites!  🙂

I cannot wait to have leftovers tomorrow, woooo!  Oh, and my little tzatziki sauce consisted of:

  • 1 container Greek yogurt
  • diced, seedless cucumber
  • lemon juice
  • salt
  • garlic powder
  • drizzle of agave
 

3 Responses to “A must-make meal”

  1. Oh, wow! These look GREAT!!!

    I’m not a huge sweet potato fan, but mixed with the ingredients, I may just be able to give them a try!

  2. Brandi Says:

    Yay – I’m so glad you like them! I can’t wait to make them again.

  3. I have a sweet potato falafel recipe flagged in one of my cookbooks, but this one looks way easier!!

    Because I love sweet potatoes and I love falafels. And money shot is right…these look SO good.


Leave a comment