WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Creamy Jalapeno Ranch Dip January 30, 2012

Filed under: Dips/sauces/dressings,Sandwiches — WannaBe Chef @ 11:41 am

Happy Monday!  I’m back with a cool, creamy, all-purpose dip for you.  This recipe makes a LOT of dip, and it was a little tricky to make in my mini food processor, but I figured it out (just had to do it in two batches, then combine!).  Anywho, this dressing was absolutely delicious.  It wasn’t spicy at all, though.  If you want it spicy, I would try adding jarred jalapenos since I find that they tend to be hotter than the fresh ones.

Creamy Jalapeno Ranch Dip

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups Ranch dressing (from the bottle, or homemade)  I used bottled, light Ranch.  1 1/2 cups is almost a whole bottle.

1/2 cup sour cream  I used light sour cream.

one  bunch of cilantro, stems removed

one large fresh jalapeno, de-seeded and coarsely chopped

one 7 oz. can chopped green chiles  I used the smaller can, it was less than 7 oz.

a large garlic clove, roughly chopped

a teaspoon of salt  I used less, maybe 1/4 – 1/2 tsp.

juice of one lemon  I used half a lemon

Instructions:

Pulse all ingredients in a food processor until smooth.  I would imagine a blender would work, too.  Taste and adjust ingredients as desired.

Wayne and I dipped Doritoes in this, and it was really good.  For dinner, I put it inside turkey wraps with lettuce, tomato, and cheese.  Mmm, mmm!  Today, I plan to use it as salad dressing.  I think it would be really good drizzled on burritoes, enchilladas, or tacos or used as a dip for raw veggies.  The possibilities are endless!

 

 

Leave a Reply

