WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Soup and pie December 19, 2011

Filed under: Soup,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 11:00 am

Hey, all.  This will probably be my last quick post before the holidays!  We are leaving at 6 am on Thursday for MI, and obviously there’s a lot to do to prepare for the trip!  Yesterday, Wayne, Macy and I had our little family Christmas so we wouldn’t have to pack and re-pack gifts.  Of course, Macy liked the wrapping paper more than the gifts, but that’s to be expected when your kid loves that crinkly sound.  I made a simple and tasty soup for dinner and Dutch apple pie for dessert.  I’m not usually a big pie-person, but I had a frozen crust leftover from Thanksgiving, so I figured why not make a pie?

Delicious soup, terrible photo

Stuffed Pepper Soup

Click here for recipe from Skinny Taste

The only changes I made:  added about 1 Tbsp of Worchestershire to the meat/peppers while they cooked, omitted the marjoram, and let the soup simmer for about 1.5 – 2 hours instead of 30 minutes.  I also served it with parmesan cheese on top.

Dutch Apple Pie

Click here for recipe

I followed it exactly!  It turned out really well.

 

Leave a Reply

