WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Carrot soup November 16, 2011

Filed under: Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 10:34 am

When Wayne asked what we were having for dinner the other night, I told him he probably didn’t want to know.  When I finally mumbled “……carrot soup,” I think he agreed that he probably shouldn’t have asked.  Then when I was making it, and he saw a big pot of baby carrots floating in broth, he said “Maybe you should put some potatoes in there…”  LOL.  I told him not to worry, we won’t be eating whole carrots in broth… that I would be pureeing it.  Hahaha, I don’t think that helped.  Anyway, the main reason I wanted to make this was because it looked like a quick, simple recipe  Also, it had fresh thyme in it, and I still had fresh thyme in the fridge to use.  Man, a package of that stuff lasts forever.  I also figured this soup would be good because it was a Pioneer Woman recipe, and I wanted to use my immersion blender 🙂

I followed the recipe exactly, except I used chicken broth and added more than two sprigs of thyme.  This recipe makes a TON, I mean A LOT, of soup.  If you’re just cooking for two or four, definitely halve it.  We are still swimming in carrot soup over here…..

I thought this soup just OK.  It was light and mild with a hint of sweetness from the honey.  It went well with a warm, chewy hunk of baquette.  Despite using extra thyme, I couldn’t taste it.  Maybe my thyme was just past it’s prime (ha).  Despite his reservations, Wayne actually really liked this soup.

Carrot-Thyme Soup with Cream

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds Baby Carrots
  • 2 quarts Vegetable Stock Or Chicken Stock
  • 2 sprigs Fresh Thyme
  • 1/3 cup Honey
  • 1/2 cup Heavy Cream
  • Dash Of Salt

Instructions:

Combine carrots, stock, and thyme in a pot. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Remove from heat and transfer soup in two batches to a blender (or you may use an immersion blender.) Puree soup completely, then stir in honey and cream. Taste, then add salt as needed.

Use a little warm broth if the soup needs thinning.

Serve while warm with a sprig of thyme on top.

 

Leave a Reply

