WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Smells like Thanksgiving November 1, 2011

Filed under: Chicken — WannaBe Chef @ 9:52 am

Happy November!  So I totally forgot to say Happy Halloween yesterday.  Apparently I was still deep in thought about the sticky toffee pudding.  Anywho, I made a yummy, very fall-appropriate dinner last night…. Chicken and Apple Pot Pie.  It smelled a lot like Thanksgiving thanks to the sauteed onions and celery and fresh thyme.  Mmmm, it got me all excited for the real thing!  Especially because my mommy is flying out!  It will be my first Thanksgiving not in Michigan with my whole family 😦  But at least I’ll get to spend it with mom, and it will be my first time cooking the meal!!  Ok, back to last night….

This is a Rachael Ray recipe.  I’ve said it before… she is annoying, but she knows how to combine flavors and make a good meal!  The filling of this “pot pie” was so flavorful.  The sweetness of the apples and cider (I actually used Simply Apple because I didn’t want to buy a whole gallon of cider) combined with the savory chicken and fresh thyme was so good!

Some notes:  I did not use as much oil and butter as the recipe called for.  I only used 1 large honeycrisp apple, and I didn’t peel it.  It’s hard enough trying to chop everything when your baby is fussy and wants all of your attention, all the time!  Also, my puff pastry did not bake all the way.  I’m not sure if maybe it wasn’t defrosted all the way or what, but it got super brown on top and stayed doughy on the bottom.  Next time, I would probably put biscuits or something else on top because undercooked puff pastry is not good.  We ended up peeling off the top layer and trashing the rest of the dough.

Chicken and Apple Pot Pies

Click link for recipe 🙂

 

One Response to “Smells like Thanksgiving”

  1. […] fussy, so getting a photo at all was a small miracle.  I had leftover puff pastry from when I made chicken and apple pot pie, so I went to the puff pastry website and found a recipe for taco […]


Leave a Reply

