WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Hello, anyone out there? October 4, 2011

Filed under: Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 10:23 am

Remember me?  Anyone?  I’m sure no one reads my poor little blog anymore, but that’s my own fault!  See that last entry down there?  The one with the boring coleslaw, written on May 13, 2011?  Well, I wrote that entry on just another “normal” day in my pregnancy.  I was 35 weeks and 2 days pregnant.  I wrote my blog entry, took a video of baby’s nursery to share with my family, went out to dinner with Wayne, rented movies and got ice cream.  Little did I know, I was actually in labor.  To make a long story short, I ended up having my sweet little girl at 1:26 am on Saturday, May 14th after a super fast, super surprising, and super scary labor and delivery.  So that, my friends, is why you haven’t seen me in *cough* almost 5 months!  Oh, another fun fact…one year ago, today, I found out I was pregnant 🙂

 

I’m not sure I even remember how to blog anymore.  I’ve been meaning to start up again, but little Macy is a terrible sleeper and an even worse napper, so blogging is the last thing I feel like doing if I ever have a few spare minutes.  Don’t get me wrong though, I have missed it, so I’m going to try my hardest to write in here again! 

 

My debut recipe is a delicious fall dinner.  I wish I had a better photo for you, but this is one of those dishes that just doesn’t photograph that well.  I can’t tell you enough how good it tasted, though!  It definitely has that sweet and savory thing going on, which I love.  I was afraid Wayne wouldn’t like it because of the sweetness, so I used hot & spicy sausage which I highly recommend.  He actually loved this dish, woohoo!  I can’t wait to make this again.   

Sausage, Apple, Sweet Potato Bake
Modified from THIS RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 pounds hot italian turkey sausage, casings removed (recommended: Jennie-O brand)
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled
  • 2 small honeycrisp apples, peeled
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • dash cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup water

Instructions:

  1. Brown and cook the sausage in a skillet, set aside.
  2. Slice the sweet potato into rounds, about 1/4″ wide.
  3. Slice the apples about the same size as the potatoes.
  4. Spray a casserole dish with cooking spray.  Layer the potatoes on the bottom (you’ll need to overlap them a little).  Layer the apples on top, then put the sausage on top of the apples.
  5. Mix the rest of the ingredients in a bowl, then pour evenly over the sausage.
  6. Cover pan with foil, bake at 375 for about 45 minutes or until potatoes and apples are tender.  It might take longer, depending on the thickness of your potatoes and apples.
 

5 Responses to “Hello, anyone out there?”

  1. Ashley Says:

    YAY!! You’re back! I’ve missed your recipe inspiration 🙂

    • WannaBe Chef Says:

      Wow, I wasn’t expecting anyone to even read this (except maybe my mom, hehe), let alone comment! Yay, thanks!

      • Terri Says:

        Yay.. I’ve got something to read again! Maybe you’ll inspire me to start cooking again?

  2. Erin Says:

    I already wanna make this 🙂 Sounds very interesting, definitely outside of my poor little confined box…


Leave a Reply

