WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Behind May 11, 2011

Filed under: Beef,Crockpot,Mexican-inspired,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 1:33 pm

Yeah, so I haven’t blogged in a minute or so.  I do have a few meals saved up on the camera, so I will share 😉

Another Mexican-Inspired Soup
Very loosely based on THIS RECIPE from Picky Palate

In a soup pot, saute:

  • 1 large chicken breast, diced small
  • about 6 slices lean turkey bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • spoonful of fresh minced garlic

Stir in: 

  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 15 oz. can plain diced tomatoes
  • 1 15 oz. can Tex-Mex Fire-Roasted tomatoes (or something similar)
  • 1 15 oz. can Mexi-corn
  • about 1/2 cup water or enough to make it more “soupy”

Let simmer for a little bit, covered.  Top with cheese, sour cream, cilantro, crushed tortilla chips or other desired toppings.

Now we move onto boring old spaghetti.  However, I decided to jazz it up with some cheese-stuffed meatballs.  Basically, I took 1 pound lean ground beef, seasoned it up with Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and some bread crumbs.  Then I took 2 string cheese sticks and cut them each into 8 pieces, so I had a total of 16 cheese “nuggets.”  Then I made 16 meatballs and wrapped the meat around the cheese nuggets.  I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes, and voila!  Cheese-stuffed meatballs. 

Crockpot Chicken with Black Beans in Cream Cheese Sauce
Recipe HERE, from CopyKat Recipes

I followed the recipe exactly.  It really does not look pretty at all once you add the cream cheese, but I promise it tastes great.  We had ours over brown rice, but I also discovered that if you shred the chicken, it makes a really good dip for tortilla chips!

 

Leave a Reply

