WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Salt Sauce April 26, 2011

Filed under: Asian-inspired,Chicken,Products — WannaBe Chef @ 2:25 pm

So I bought this bottle of sauce at Trader Joe’s in hopes of recreating a Thai steak wrap I had at a restaurant not long ago.  Well, it wasn’t the right sauce, so I decided to just use it in a stir-fry of sorts.

Then I turned the bottle around and took a peek at the nutrition label….

Do you SEE the sodium content?!  Holy crap!  My slightly swollen ankles screamed in protest, but I used the sauce anyway.  It tasted good, but I didn’t use as much as I would have liked.  Lesson learned:  look at label before buying, duh. 

The finished meal-in-a-bowl contained:  brown rice, chicken, stir-fry veggies, “salt sauce,” peanuts, and lots of fresh cilantro.  Definitely tasty but did require copious amounts of water during the night!

 

Leave a Reply

