WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Two recipes you must try April 15, 2011

Filed under: Beef,Chicken,Favorites — WannaBe Chef @ 8:27 am

Happy Friday!  Apparently we have reverted back to winter here in MN.  It’s windy, rainy, and barely breaking the 40 degree mark.  They’re even throwing that evil word “snow” around for this weekend.  Blaaahh.  Anywho, I have two delicious, winter-appropriate dinners to share. 

This was the first time I’ve ever made calzones, and they were easy and really tasty.  I used pre-made whole wheat pizza crust from Trader Joe’s, and they turned out crunchy and hearty.  We dipped them in light ranch dressing and had celery sticks on the side. 

Buffalo Chicken Calzones
Adapted slightly from this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound whole wheat pizza dough, at room temp
  • 1 large chicken breast, diced small
  • olive oil, salt and pepper
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 Tbsp hot sauce (I used Frank’s and probably more than 1 Tbsp)
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste mixed with about 2-3 Tbsp water to thin down (I didn’t have any tomato sauce)
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3-4 green onions, sliced
  • Garlic salt
  • Ranch dressing for dipping

Instructions:

  1. Saute chicken in small skillet with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Remove from pan and set aside.
  2. In same pan, melt butter, then stir in the tomato paste/water and hot sauce.  Mix to combine.  Remove from heat and return chicken to pan, coating chicken with sauce. 
  3. Roll out pizza dough according to package directions.  I made two calzones – one larger for Wayne, and one smaller for me, but you could definitely make four smaller ones. 
  4. Put a little cheese on the bottom, then distribute the chicken, then top with more cheese and green onions.  Fold dough over, pinching edges to seal. 
  5. Cut a few vents in the top of the dough.  Spray or brush olive oil on top of dough and season with a little garlic salt.
  6. Bake at 450 for about 10-12 minutes or until dough is set and slightly browned.
  7. Serve with ranch dressing and celery sticks if desired.   

Cheesy Hash Brown Chili
Recipe from Rachael Ray

I followed the recipe exactly, although I did add some hot sauce to the chili.  Honestly, this one surprised me because as I was making it, I was thinking it was going to be bland and boring.  It turned out really well, though.  I think the key is simmering the chili for at least 20 minutes to get all the flavors combined, then letting it bake until it’s really bubbling and browned on top.  Patience is key, as this is not a “30-Minute Meal!”  This recipe was super easy, cheap, and hearty.  I think it would probably freeze well too.  Rachael never disappoints!

~~~

Pregnancy update for anyone who’s interested!  Everything is going well, and I’m feeling good.  Wayne and I are about halfway through our 7-week birth/parenting class.  I’m not sure how useful it’s been so far, but all the practice breathing and relaxation techniques have been entertaining so far.  It’s kind of hard to pretend you’re having a contraction when you have no idea what a contraction feels like haha. 

Here’s my latest “bump pic.”  I’m just over 31 weeks pregnant already!  It’s getting scarily (is that a word?) close, and I can’t believe I’m going to be someone’s MOTHER in two months!! 

 

3 Responses to “Two recipes you must try”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    you look wonderful & adorable!! xoxo

  2. Danielle Krasinski Says:

    You look great!!!


Leave a Reply

