WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Steak and chicken March 28, 2011

Filed under: Beef,Chicken,Pasta,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 9:51 am

Hi, all!  I’ve got two hearty, meaty meals for you today.  I’m still working on the iron thing, so I’ve been trying to eat meat at least once a day (along with lots of non-meat sources of iron, too).  I have a feeling my iron will still be low at my next appointment, but I reeeally don’t want to have to take iron supplements.  If you don’t know why, I would suggest googling “side effects of iron supplements,” because the reason is totally TMI for a food blog 😉   Onto the food…

Steak and Warm Tortellini Salad

For the steak:  I had two “bottom sirloin steaks” (I think?) that I marinated in a mixture of worchestershire sauce, chipotle hot sauce, olive oil, and grill seasoning.  I let them marinate for the day – around 5-6 hours.  I seasoned them with salt and pepper, then broiled them in the oven.

For the salad:  First, make a quick balsamic vinaigrette in a large bowl.  I don’t measure, but here’s what I do:  whisk together one part vinegar with a squirt of dijon mustard, a squirt of honey, salt and pepper; stream in one part of olive oil and whisk until well combined.  Set aside.   

Cook some frozen cheese tortellini according to the package directions.  Drain and return it to the pot.  Stir in 2 or 3 large handfuls of fresh spinach and let it wilt slightly.  Pour the pasta/spinach into the bowl with the vinaigrette, toss to combine.  Serve salad warm and top with parmesan cheese if desired. 

Hawaiian Chicken
Recipe from Macaroni and Cheesecake

Ingredients:

1 cup crushed pineapple
1 tbsp. honey
juice of 1/2 lime
1 tbsp. brown sugar
1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce
1 clove minced garlic
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1/8-1/4 tsp. ground cayenne pepper
1 tbsp. cilantro
2 large chicken breasts, cut in half or 4 smaller chicken breasts

Instructions:

In a medium sized bowl mix together pineapple and all other ingredients except the chicken until combined. Place chicken in the bowl to marinate and refrigerate until ready to use. We marinated for 1 hour, but if you have less time it would be just fine.

After marinating, place chicken & marinade in a large skillet, sprayed with cooking spray. Cook over medium heat for approximately 20 minutes until chicken is cooked through and marinade has reduced just slightly. Serve chicken topped with cooked marinade & garnish with cilantro.

~~~~

This was really flavorful and tasty!  I will say, though, it was quite salty (even after using the low-sodium soy sauce).  Next time, I would definitely leave out the extra 1/4 tsp of salt and maybe even reduce the amount of soy sauce a little.  Otherwise, I would highly recommend this recipe!

 

One Response to “Steak and chicken”

  1. Both of these recipes look amazing! I need to try the chicken soon!


Leave a Reply

