WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Loaf March 24, 2011

Filed under: Chicken — WannaBe Chef @ 9:16 am

I’m back!  I had an awesome, but very short, trip back to MI for my baby shower this past weekend.  We had a great turnout, lots of good food, and tonssss of lovely gifts.  I’m a lucky girl!  Maybe I will share some pics sometime, but I’m thinking anyone that still reads the old blog is my FB friend and already saw them.  So, for today I will just share our dinner from last night.

Quinoa Chicken Meatloaf
Recipe from Erin’s Food Files 

Ingredients:

Canola spray
2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 medium jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped
1 Tbsp ground cumin
1-1/2 cups cooked quinoa (1/2 cup quinoa cooked with 1 cup of water)*
1 lb ground chicken
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 Tbsp tomato ketchup
1 large egg
1 tsp coarse sea salt
1 tsp fresh black pepper

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat a 9-inch loaf pan with cooking spray, and set aside.

In a small frying pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and jalapeño to the pan, and cook, stirring frequently, for 3-4 minutes, until the onion is soft. Stir in the cumin, and cook for one minute. Remove from heat.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the onion mixture and the remaining ingredients. Mix thoroughly, and transfer to the loaf pan. Bake for one hour. Turn the oven off, and let the meatloaf sit in it for 10 minutes. Then, remove from the oven, and let the meatloaf cool for 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

~~~~

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly with the exceptions of using a tad less cumin, salt, and black pepper that it called for.  I thought this meatloaf had a good flavor, and it was very hearty with the quinoa in there.  The texture was much softer than your standard beef meatloaf, but the longer you let it sit, the firmer it gets.  I like crusty, almost-burnt edges on my meatloaf, so I think I would cook it even longer than an hour next time.

 

Leave a Reply

