WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I gave in February 28, 2011

Filed under: Beef — WannaBe Chef @ 12:13 pm

Every Sunday when I’m desperately trying to come up with the menu for the week, I ask Wayne if there’s anything that he wants for dinner.  Nine times out of ten, he says “Cabbage Rolls.”  Uuughh!  I’ve only made them once or twice before, and I just remember them taking forever.  Well, I finally gave in and decided to make the dang cabbage rolls last night.  They’re easy to make… it’s just that there’s a lot of steps and time involved.  I will admit, though, that I’m so glad I gave in because these were REALLY good!  (Despite the horrible, unappetizing picture below!)

I used >>>THIS RECIPE<<< as an outline.  Based on the reviews, I decided to double the sauce and bake them instead of put them in the crockpot.  I also added a few extra ingredients for flavor.  I love, love, loved the tangy, sweet sauce.  You could also add some hot sauce or red pepper flakes if you wanted some heat, but we just put hot sauce (and parm) on top.   

Cabbage Rolls

Ingredients:

  • 12-14 cabbage leaves
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp worchestershire sauce

Instructions:

  • Boil the whole head of cabbage for awhile until the leaves are tender and separate easily.  I had to take off the outer few then return the head to the boiling water for awhile to get the inner leaves off. 
  • While the cabbage is boiling, cook the rice and let cool.
  • Combine the rice, beef, onions, milk, egg, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and 1 tsp worchestershire sauce in a bowl. 
  • Combine the sauce ingredients (tomato sauce, brown sugar, lemon juice, and 1 Tbsp worchestershire) in a separate bowl. 
  • Place 1/4 cup of the meat mixture into each cabbage leaf and roll.  Line up rolls in a greased 9×13 baking dish.  I ended up with 13 rolls. 
  • Pour sauce evenly over rolls.  Cover pan with foil and bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees. 
 

Leave a Reply

