WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Dinner Sammie January 19, 2011

Filed under: Sandwiches,Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 7:19 pm

Good evening, loves.  I’ve got another dinner for you, yippee!  First I just wanted to share a little bit of what’s been going on with Baby WannaBe.  I’m feeling good, and my appetite has kinda been through the roof lately.  I think I’m actually showing now, and I have to say, it’s pretty strange.  I can definitely still hide it, and it’s not noticeable to strangers, but the bump is definitely there.  Eeek!  Plus, I’ve been feeling movements for the past two weeks now, which is also quite odd.  Anywho, just wanted to share!  Maybe I’ll share a picture sometime in the future 😉

~~~

Onto dinner.  I found this recipe in one of my Cooking Light magazines and decided to give it a go.  These subs weren’t anything spectacular, they were just OK.  If I were to make them again, I would increase the seasonings in the meatballs – especially the salt.  All I could taste was the paprika.  I also took the liberty of adding some Sriracha to the slaw mix, which helped immensely in the flavor department. 

Turkey Meatball Reuben Subs
Recipe from Cooking Light magazine, December 2010

For the meatballs:

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 3/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground red pepper

For the slaw:

  • 1 1/3 cups packaged coleslaw
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat Thousand Island dressing
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Other:

  • 4 sub or hoagie buns
  • 4 slices Swiss cheese

Instructions:

  1. Combine meatball ingredients in a bowl.  Shape into 16 meatballs.  Use a cookie scoop to make it go faster.  Place onto a baking sheet that’s been covered in foil, then sprayed with cooking spray.  Broil for 8-10 minutes, turning once.
  2. Hollow out bread and reserve for another use.  Combine coleslaw ingredients.  Arrange 4 meatballs and 1 cheese slice inside each bun.  Place back under the broiler until cheese is melted.  Divide the slaw among the sandwiches.  I also put some sliced pickles on, too! 
 

One Response to “Dinner Sammie”

  1. So glad that you are feeling good! It’s crazy when you can start feeling the baby move!

    These subs look pretty good! I love a quick and easy sandwich like this for dinner!


Leave a Reply

