WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Whatever floats your boat January 13, 2011

Filed under: Meatless,Potato,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 8:11 pm

Today is my second day of being a bachelorette due to Wayne being on a business trip.  Dinners are ofter much more simple and usually veggie based when I’m by myself.  Last night’s dinner was no exception.  I wasn’t all that excited for it, but I should have known better since it was a Rachael Ray recipe, and she usually doesn’t disappoint.  These humble little zucchini boats might not seem like much, but they were perfectly tender and packed with flavor.  I only made two small zucchinis, but I wish I would have made the whole recipe. 

Cheesy Zucchini Boats
Recipe from Rachael Ray

I didn’t measure anything and used the recipe more as a guide.  I also didn’t cook the zucchini as long as the recipe said because my zucchinis were quite small.  Otherwise, I didn’t make any changes. 

At the last minute, I decided to cut up a potato that I baked the other day.  I cut it into french fry shapes, coated them in olive oil and seasonings, and baked them until golden.  WOWWWW, can you say best oven fries ever?  I will definitely be using pre-baked potatoes for fries from now on.  Don’t let the picture fool you… I ate the whole potato’s worth of fries.   

Luckily, I saved two of my zucchini boats for dinner tonight.  I decided to cut them into chunks and combine them with macaroni, fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, mozzarella “pearls” (found at Wal-mart of all places), and parm.  It turned out really well for being doctored-up leftovers… nice and warm and hearty 🙂 

 

2 Responses to “Whatever floats your boat”

  1. Terri Says:

    Wow, very good use of leftovers…I’m impressed.

  2. The boats look AWESOME!! And I never thought to bake the potatoes before I made them into fries! GREAT idea!


Leave a Reply

