WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Crispy January 9, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast — WannaBe Chef @ 7:47 pm

I’ve always been a huge fan of breakfast-for-dinner.  Some people call it “Brinner,” but for some reason, I would rather say “breakfast-for-dinner” haha.  I usually revert to it when I have an empty spot on the weekly menu and can’t think of anything else to cook.  It’s also good for the end of the week when we don’t have much fresh produce or meat left.  This week, I was craving french toast.  I wanted a bit of a heartier version, so I decided to try something new: coating it with crushed cereal!  It worked really well and tasted even better! 

All I did was dipped whole wheat bread into a mixture of eggs, a splash of milk, cinnamon and honey.  Then I dunked the wet bread into crushed cereal and sauteed it in a little butter (! – I find that a little butter helps with the crisp factor) until golden brown and crispy on both sides.  You could use any flake-style cereal, but here’s what I used…

Yeah, so we have carb on carb on top of carb here, but I read that women in their second trimester need more carbs!  Hehe  :-p

 

Leave a Reply

