WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Dreaming of pasta December 22, 2010

Filed under: Pasta,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 7:52 pm

I used to go camping quite a bit with my family when I was younger.  We had a nice little pop-up camper, you know, it wasn’t a tent, but it was just rustic enough to still be considered “roughin’ it.”  We had lots of fun, and of course, there was always tons of food.  My “aunt” Adeline always made this really simple, but really tasty pasta salad.  I think we may have called it the “Kids’ Salad”??  Something like that, well because, it had kid-friendly things in it. 

So yeah, my messed-up, pregnant mind actually woke up the other night thinking about this salad.  I was in some sort of Ranch dressing fog and actually almost woke Wayne up to tell him how much I wanted this salad.  Obviously, I went straight to the store and got the whole four ingredients and made some today.  It was everything I dreamed of (literally)! 

Adeline’s Pickle Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • Elbow macaroni – the regular white kind
  • Chopped dill pickles
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Ranch dressing – the real, full-fat kind, mhmm that’s right…

Instructions:

  • Cook and drain pasta
  • Mix with pickles, cheese and Ranch
  • Chill for a couple hours
  • You may need to add more Ranch before serving since the pasta absorbs a lot of it

Adeline, I know you’re out there!  Please correct me if I missed anything here, but this is how I remember it 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Dreaming of pasta”

  1. Adeline Says:

    Yup! Thats it, not to healthy but everyone liked it. Good to know you have fond memories of camping, we enjoyed it to!

  2. Bex Says:

    I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE YOU’RE GROWING A HUMAN.

    how long are you in town?


Leave a Reply

