WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Why my blog may continue to suck… December 7, 2010

Filed under: Chicken — WannaBe Chef @ 8:27 pm

Hello, sweeties!  First of all, thanks to all of you who sent your congrats about the mini WannaBe!  We are very excited…. and nervous! 

As you may have guessed, I was quite sick… for about 6 weeks straight.  You foodies may understand my complete and utter shock at my totally non-existent appetite.  I have never not had an appetite, and I can’t remember going through a day without thinking about food.  However, the mere thought of food was way too much to handle, so you can imagine the problem I might have with thinking of recipes, shopping for the ingredients, cooking it, and then blogging it!  Anyway, I’ve been feeling better for about two weeks now and I’m starting to at least eat more now… granted, it’s not very close to the healthy stuff I usually eat.  Yeah, that’s right, I haven’t had a salad in at least 7 or 8 weeks.  Anywho, I could go on and on, but I’ll spare you any more details! 

So you may be wondering why my blog may continue to suck?  Well, the main reason is that my computer died.  If you’ve ever suffered from sudden computer death, you know what I mean when I say it’s like a death in the family.  My life is on my computer.  With that said, it’s only half as bad as I make it sound because it turns out that only my monitor died.  So right now, my half-dead laptop is hooked up to Wayne’s desktop monitor, which means I still have access to “my life” for an unknown amount of time… which means I can still sort-of blog.      

So, enough talking… here’s a tasty concoction that I whipped up last night for dinner.  Be prepared to see a lot more carb-heavy, comfort foods on the blog… since those are the only things that Baby WannaBe’s mother can tolerate!

Pregnant Lady Chicken Bake

Ingredients:

  • Leftover rotisserie chicken, shredded – about 2 cups or so
  • 1 jar chicken gravy
  • Frozen mixed veggies, about half a bag
  • Garlic powder
  • Black pepper
  • Shredded cheddar, a handful
  • 1 small tube (7 oz) refrigerated biscuits

Instructions:

  1. In a skillet, combine the chicken, veggies, gravy and seasonings.  Cook until mixture is heated through. 
  2. Pour mixture into a baking dish, top with cheese, then raw biscuits.
  3. Bake at 350 until bubbly and biscuits are browned and cooked through.  It doesn’t take too long, of course I didn’t time it :-p

 

Leave a Reply

