WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Balsamic day October 12, 2010

Filed under: Salad,Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 7:54 pm

Hola!  I’m holding up the couch all by my lonesome this week while Wayne is out of town for work.  This is just the first of 3 trips he has scheduled for this month 😦  On the bright side, I do like cooking just for myself every now and then.  First, I wanted to share my lunch.  It may look like a boring old salad, but today’s combination was really good.  On the Halloween mantel, we have:

  • Romaine
  • Baby spinach
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Diced honeycrisp apple
  • Sharp cheddar
  • Toasted walnuts
  • Homemade balsamic vinagrette (balsamic, EVOO, honey, salt and pepper)

Honestly, I wasn’t all that excited about this dinner, but I really wanted to use up some things from the pantry and freezer.  To my surprise, it actually turned out really well, and I was very satisfied with the end product!

Sausage and Lentils for One
Measurements are approximate!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Jennie-O hot turkey sausage
  • 1/4 cup dry lentils
  • 1 medium carrot, peeled and chopped
  • chunk of onion, chopped
  • chunk of red bell pepper, chopped
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • 1-2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1-2 Tbsp EVOO (plus more for sauteing)
  • squirt of honey
  • squirt of dijon mustard

Instructions:

  • Cook lentils according to package directions
  • In a small skillet, swirl some EVOO and let that heat up.  Slice the sausage and place in hot pan.  Let the sausage get started for a minute, then dump veggies into the pan.  Saute on med-high heat until sausage is cooked through and sausage/veggies are browned.  Season as desired. 
  • In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, honey, salt/pepper, dijon, and EVOO.  I usually like mine more vinegary, but this time I would say I used equal parts vinegar to oil and it was deeeelicious.
  • Drain the lentils and dump them in the pan with the sausage and veggies, toss to combine.  Put mixture in a bowl, then pour the vinagrette on top.  Devour! 
 

Leave a Reply

