WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Meat-uh-balls October 7, 2010

Filed under: Asian-inspired,Beef — WannaBe Chef @ 6:36 pm

Good evening!  Tonight I bring you just another dinner.  I hope my posts haven’t been too boring lately.  I kinda feel like they have.  Maybe I’ll show you my breakfast, lunch and dinner next time (as if that’s so much more exciting!).  So anyway, tonight I made some meatballs.  Who doesn’t like meatballs?  Oh, and I came across this fun new ingredient at Walmart of all places.  You all know my love of cilantro, so I just had to pick this up!

Look how cute and tiny the little cubes are!  You just crumble them into whatever you’re making.

So my meatballs were based on THIS RECIPE , but I made some changes. 

Slowcooker Coconut Peanut Meatballs

For the meatballs:

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cilantro cubes, crumbled (or just some fresh chopped cilantro)
  • seasonings – salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • bread crumbs – approx 1/4 cup
  1. Combine all ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Form into small meatballs (I got 28 meatballs).  Place on a greased baking sheet and bake at 350 until cooked through – about 15-20 minutes (although I did not time it, so just keep an eye on them).  Let cool and place in fridge until later.  You can also just use precooked meatballs.

For the sauce:

  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • scant 2 Tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1-2 Tbsp chopped peanuts, optional, or you can use chunky peanut butter
  • 1 tsp Sriracha hot chile sauce – more or less depending on taste
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp white sugar
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small crockpot (or you could use a small sauce pan).  If using a crockpot, let sauce cook for an hour or so, stirring occasionally.  If using a pan, I would probably bring it to boil, then cook it on low for awhile until it thickens and reduces.
  2. Add the meatballs to the sauce and let cook on low for another 45 minutes – 1 hour until sauce is thick and meatballs are heated through.  If using a pan, this would not take as long. 
  3. Serve meatballs over white rice if desired.

Mmm, these were really good!  They are a little on the sweet side, so if that’s not your thang, I would suggest going a little lighter on the sugar and/or peanut butter.

 

3 Responses to “Meat-uh-balls”

  1. Terri Says:

    Holy smokes, those meatballs look gooooood. What dept did you find the cubes, with the spices?

  2. Erin Says:

    I’ve got those cubes too, but mine are garlic and onion. I’ve never seen the cilantro before.


Leave a Reply

