WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Slurpin’ again October 4, 2010

Filed under: Meatless,One dish meal,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 6:36 pm

Hello my dears!!  I apologize for leaving you hanging for a few days there.  We’ve had a house guest since Saturday, so I haven’t been taking pics of my food.  Last night, I made my first potroast!  This is something my mom used to make a lot when I was a kid, so it was a total trip back in time!  I don’t have a pic, but it was soooo good!  Boneless chuck roast with potatoes, onions, and carrots, cooked in the oven for almost 2 hours.  The only bad thing about this meal is it will make your house smell like roast and onions for dayssss.  I used to get mad at my mom as a kid because I would smell like potroast the next day at school haha. 

So anyway, today I made a big pot of soup.  Yeah, I’m still on the soup kick!  This stuff did not disappoint.  It was smooth, cheesy and very flavorful even with NO salt or pepper added.  Give this one a try, it’s super easy and makes a huuuge pot of soup!   

Broccoli Cheese Soup
Based on this recipe and its reviews

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter (4 Tbsp)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 big heads of fresh broccoli, cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 (32 ounce) cartons chicken broth (you won’t use it all)
  • 1 pound Velveeta, cut into small cubes
  • handful of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, about 1/2 – 2/3 cup
  • 2 cups milk (I used 1%)
  • scant 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch

Instructions:

  1. Melt the butter in a large soup pot.  Add the onions and saute until soft and translucent.
  2. Stir in the broccoli, then add 1 full carton of broth and about 1/4 of the other carton, just enough to cover the broccoli.  Bring to a soft boil / simmer and cook until broccoli is just tender.
  3. Reduce the heat and stir in the cheese slowly so it doesn’t clump.  Stir until cheese is melted.  Add the sharp cheddar and let that melt. 
  4. Stir in the milk and garlic powder.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together about half of the remaining broth and the cornstarch to make a slurry.  Stir this into the soup.
  6. Bring soup back to a boil just for a minute or so, stirring constantly until soup thickens.  Remove from heat and serve.  **Do not leave soup unattended on the heat, or the cheese and milk will stick/burn on the bottom of the pan.
 

Leave a Reply

