WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Mulligatawny September 9, 2010

Filed under: Bread/Muffins,Crockpot,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 11:17 am

Good morning/afternoon!  Just wanted to share my dinner from last night.  It’s something I’ve never made OR eaten (ate?) before.  I first heard of it from my lovely, former coworker Claire!  (Shout out to Claire – Hey giiiirl!)  I found this slowcooker version and decided to try it.

Slowcooker Mulligatawny Soup
Recipe HERE

Changes I made: 

  • I used 1 large chicken breast instead of the thighs
  • I used a Fuji apple, slightly less raisins, and slightly less nutmeg
  • I added hot sauce (are you surprised?)
  • I used instant brown rice

The verdict:  Hmm.  Very interesting combination of flavors.  It’s funny because the apples look like potatoes, and the raisins plump up and look like black beans.  I think Wayne was quite surprised when he took the first bite.  I will say… he wasn’t a fan.  He said it was too sweet, which I knew he would say.  I felt pretty indifferent about it.  I’m learning that I don’t really prefer cinnamon/nutmeg flavors in savory dishes, as much as I try to!  I’d still recommend giving this soup a try if you like sweet/tangy/savory combinations and somewhat of an Indian-food flavor. 

I also threw these garlic toast thingys together. 

Garlic Buns

  • 3 whole-wheat hamburger buns, halved
  • Butter
  • Garlic salt
  • Dried parsley
  • Shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  1. Mix together butter, garlic salt, parsley and spread over bun halves
  2. Top with cheese
  3. Bake at 375 for 5-10 minutes until cheese is melted and buns are somewhat crunchy
 

Leave a Reply

