WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Fall firsts September 7, 2010

Filed under: Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:20 pm

Yes, I’m still loving the cooler weather.  Today I had my first honeycrisp apple of the season.  OMGGGGG it was just as amazing as I remember.  I don’t even bother with *other* apples anymore.  If you’ve never had a honeycrisp, get your hiney to the store.  If they don’t have them yet, well, bring a sleeping bag and wait it out.  You’ll thank me.  Be warned, though, they ain’t cheap!

Along with my first honeycrisp, I also had my first fall squash today.  I didn’t really have a plan for it when I bought it, but then genious struck…. I wanted to stuff it!  But what should I stuff it with?  Well, leftovers of course!  

Here’s what I did:

  • Bake 1 small butternut squash – cut in half lengthwise, place cut side down on a baking sheet lined w/foil and sprayed with cooking spray.  Cover with more foil and add a little water for steam.  Bake at 375 for about 30-45 minutes until tender.
  • Spoon the seeds out from each half, discard, and set squashes aside.
  • Make the filling – for me, this consisted of mixing together leftover, cooked brown rice and leftover Almost Meatless Sloppy Joes.  Spoon filling into squash.  Top with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese.
  • Return to oven for another 15-20 minutes until filling is hot and cheese is melted. 

Mmm, paired with a small piece of salmon, this dinner was fantastic and very filling.  I looove fall.  More squash and apples are in my future 🙂

 

One Response to “Fall firsts”

  1. Terri Says:

    Oooooh, I can smell that squash cooking right now! Fall IS the best time of the year! It’s getting time for meatloaf, squash & baked potato.


Leave a Reply

