WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Crockpot love/hate September 6, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Crockpot — WannaBe Chef @ 6:23 pm

Happy Labor Day, everyone!  I didn’t do much to celebrate besides dust off my crockpot.  I believe I’ve talked about this before, but I have a love/hate relationship with the thing.  The main reason is that it gets waaaay too hot and cooks waaaay too fast.  If I were to put something in there for 8-10 hours like most recipes call for, it would be dust.  Well, the lovely fall-like weather combined with my discovery of THIS BLOG made me forget my crockpot issues… temporarily.  I spent an obscene amount of time browsing Stephanie’s blog and decided the first thing I wanted to make was the Crockpot Apricot Chicken.  

I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, and I also used sugar-free apricot preserves.  I started the crockpot at 12:30PM, thinking I’d be fine if I halved the cooking time AND cooked it on low.  Well, true to form, my stupid crockpot had the chicken cooked in about 3 hours… on LOW.  Aarrrgghhhhh!  I definitely need a new crockpot.  Anyway, I was expecting the chicken to be bone dry once dinner time actually came around, but it was surprisingly tender.  The flavor was good, and it had a nice sweetness.  I really enjoyed the sauce over my brown rice, too.  However, I think I would increase the amount of the other ingredients to give it more zing… more mustard, more heat, more soy sauce… and maybe even throw in a little worchestershire sauce.  Overall, very tasty though!  Stay tuned for another crockpot recipe this week!  (Don’t worry, it’s soup, and even my crockpot can’t overcook soup!)

 

One Response to “Crockpot love/hate”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Thanks for stopping by the new blog!


Leave a Reply

