WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Fall is in the air September 3, 2010

Filed under: Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 9:55 am

Good morning!  Yesterday, there was a slight chill in the air, and I loved it.  Fall is on its way, and I’m so ready for it.  I’m not real sure how long fall lasts here in MN, but judging by what I’ve heard about MN winters, I hope fall lasts a longggg time.  I had a few fall-ish meals yesterday that I’d like to share…

*****

PB&J OIAJ!  (Peanut butter and jelly oats in a jar).  This is the first time I’ve had oatmeal in quite a while.

Junk bowl “salad” consisting of:  Wilted spinach, leftover sauteed zucchini/summer squash, parmesan cheese, avocado, and my favorite ever fresh salsa.

I was still hungry, so I went back to the kitchen for lunch course 2:  leftover corn on the cob and a string cheese. 

Dinner was an awesome fall-worthy soup….

Can you guess what’s in it?

Chickpea Soup
Inspired by “1-Hour Spanish Chickpea Soup” in Cooking Light magazine (issue unknown)

The original recipe was meant for a pressure cooker, which I obviously don’t have, so I modified it quite a bit.  Here’s my version…  (makes approx 4 large servings)

Ingredients:

  • 7 ounces turkey kielbasa, diced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 large bay leaf
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 bunch kale, washed and chopped
  • salt, pepper, and hot sauce to taste

Instructions:

  1. Saute the onion in a large soup pot until softened and slightly browned – about 5 mins
  2. Add the garlic and kielbasa, saute for another couple minutes
  3. Add the water, broth, chickpeas, bay leaf, vinegar, salt, pepper, and hot sauce
  4. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer for awhile – 10-15 mins
  5. Add the kale and let simmer, covered, for another 15-20 mins or until kale is tender
  6. Discard the bay leaf and serve

This soup may not look like much, but it was really quite rich and flavorful thanks to the kielbasa, bay leaf, and slight tang from the vinegar.  I looove soups and stews and can’t wait to make more of them this fall!  Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Fall is in the air”

  1. Beth Says:

    I had oats in a jar this morning, too. They were so good and a relief in a way because now that bar of dark chocolate dreams is GONE. 🙂


Leave a Reply

