WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Food and crafts all in one August 27, 2010

Filed under: Bread/Muffins,Holiday,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 10:48 am

Hello!  I’m back with another morning post.  Today I have a fun foodie AND crafty project that I did for my sister’s wedding shower.  (See this post for other fun wedding projects I did!)  For part of her gift, I gave her these four “recipe jars” along with a whole box of kitchen stuff – cooling rack, cookie dough scoop, mixing bowl, loaf pan, measuring cup etc.  Of course, everything was done in the wedding colors of purple and green. 

For these Recipe Jars, you will need:

  • (4) 1-quart, smooth Ball jars (found at Hobby Lobby by my mom!)
  • (4) 6-inch round (or square) pieces of fabric 
  • Coordinating ribbon of choice
  • (4) labels for front of jars and (4) coordinating tags to include the recipe instructions
  • (4) recipes of choice!  (mine are below) 

Oreo Muffins 

This was probably the easiest of the jars to make since there aren’t that many ingredients.  I really had to cram those Oreos in the jar though.  In fact, I think I was only able to get 18 or 19 Oreos in there (out of 20 the recipe calls for).

Butter Pecan Bread

I love the way this one looks with the pecans layered in the center and sandwiched between the brown sugar. 

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

I love the way this one looks too.  Keep the layering in mind when making any of these recipes, though.  I actually separated the flour in this jar so the “star” ingredients could be showcased in the middle.  I also love how the cinnamon and spices made a faint line between the flour and sugar layers.  Also keep in mind that the white sugar should always be toward the bottom.  If it were on top of the “loose” ingredients (the pecans and berries), it would just fall through and look messy.

M&M Cookies

This was the recipe that inspired the whole project!  I had this recipe saved from Bakerella for months and finally got to use it.  I ordered the purple M&Ms online (don’t even ask how much I payed for those damn things!), carried them on the plane with me, and made all the jars once I was back in MI.  I did use less choc chips and pecans (they’re under the fabric) than they recipe called for so I could use more of the precious M&M’s.  My only tip for making this jar – CRAM CRAM CRAM those ingedients in the jar after each layer.  I was practically standing on the top of the jar by the time I got to the top, and there are really only a small handful of pecans in there.   

These jars were fun to make, relatively inexpensive, and seemed to be a hit with the bride-to-be.  I think they would be great gifts all around, and you could totally change up the color of the M&Ms to coordinate with the occasion.

More tips:

  1. Next time, I would make the recipe tags and labels a little smaller.  I made them here in MN without having the jars to reference for size, so they came out a little large in comparison.
  2. I would also do something different with the fabric – either secure it to the lid with double sided tape, then tie the ribbon around it… OR put the fabric over the lid (the round, disc part of the lid), then screw the ring cap over the fabric to secure it.  Tying them on the outside with strictly the ribbon didn’t make them very stable, and they slid off easily.  Did all that make sense?? 
 

3 Responses to “Food and crafts all in one”

  1. offeringmyownconfusion Says:

    I love this idea, and kids love making and giving these gifts as well. Especially to teachers for the holidays!

  2. Ashley Says:

    Definitely a hit at the shower! They turned out so cute!

  3. Carrie Says:

    These are super cute!


Leave a Reply

