WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Crabby Pants August 25, 2010

Filed under: Fish,Salad — WannaBe Chef @ 10:26 am

Am I throwing you all for a loop with my morning posts?  I kinda like it.  Have I ever told you about my love for imitation crab meat?  Haha.  Well, I love it, and I’m going to give you a little lesson about it.  You know how it comes in flakes or sticks?  Well the sticks are no good.  And sometimes you get a batch that’s kind of mushy… also no good.  You want a nice, firm, sweet “crab.”  Yes, I’m a fake crab expert.  I picked up a two-pound, yes TWO pound, package of it the other day.  It was the flake kind, and it was not mushy at all.  It was perfect.  Then I made this crab salad for dinner last night.  It was also quite perfect.  Wanna see?

Crab Salad
Inspired by “Crab and Grilled Corn Salad” from Cooking Light magazine, Sept 2010 issue, p. 92

Ingredients:

  • 3 ears of corn, shucked
  • 1 pound imitation crab meat, flake style, chopped
  • veggies, finely chopped – I used red peppers, celery, and green onions
  • Light mayo – approx. 2-3 Tbsp
  • juice from 1 lime
  • salt and pepper
  • hot sauce

Instructions:

  1. Saute the corn in a skillet until slightly charred.  Season with salt and pepper. 
  2. Remove corn from heat and let cool.  In the meantime, combine the remaining ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Add the corn to the crab mixture and stir to combine.  Season with salt, pepper, and hot sauce to taste.
  4. Serve crab salad plain, on bread, or in lettuce cups. 

I would have looooved some cilantro in this, but the grocery store was out 😦  Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Crabby Pants”

  1. erin Says:

    Too funny, I love fake crab too. I got a GIANT bag at GFS a few weeks ago, used it in a lot of stuff.


Leave a Reply

