WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Eggs-cellent August 24, 2010

Filed under: One dish meal — WannaBe Chef @ 7:26 am

Good morning, friends!  So I tried to post this last night, but my stupid computer didn’t want to upload the pics, so I gave up.  Have I ever told you how much I enjoy fritattas and quiches?  If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, I’m sure you’ve seen at least some of the ones I’ve made.  They’re so easy and versatile, making them one of my favorite “go to” dinners when I can’t think of anything else to cook.  This yummy frittata comes to you from the dear Rachael Ray, but of course I modified it slightly.

Cabbage and Potato Frittata
Modified from Everyday with Rachael Ray, Sept 2010 issue, in the Menu Planner insert

Ingredients:

  • 10 eggs (I used 8 )
  • 8 slices bacon, chopped (I used turkey bacon of course)
  • 2 baking potatoes, about 10 ounces, peeled and cut into small cubes (I used 1 large potato)
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into small cubes (I omitted)
  • 1/4 head cabbage, sliced thin
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • sour cream, for serving
  • 1 scallion, chopped, for serving

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F
  2. Place eggs, salt and pepper in a large bowl and beat to combine.  Set aside.
  3. In a large oven-proof skillet, saute the bacon, potatoes, onions, and carrots on med-high heat until veggies are softened – about 5-7 minutes.  Season with more salt and pepper if desired.  (Note:  If using regular bacon, original recipe states to cook the bacon alone, remove from pan, and crumble for later [to use as a topping].  Then use the bacon grease to saute the veggies in.)
  4. Stir in the cabbage and saute for a minute or 2 until cabbage starts to wilt slightly.
  5. Remove bacon/veggie mixture from pan and set aside.  Spray pan liberally with cooking spray, then return the bacon/veggie mixture to the pan and spread evenly.  (This step is probably not necessary if using regular bacon since there will be enough grease in the pan already.)
  6. Pour egg mixture evenly over bacon/veggies and cook until edges start to set, about 2-3 minutes.  Transfer pan to oven and cook until center is set and edges are golden brown, about 10 minutes.
  7. Loosen edges with a spatula and slide frittata out onto a plate or cutting board.  Cut into wedges and top with sour cream and scallions (and Frank’s!  hehe).

 

This might be one of my favorite frittatas to date.  The combination of the bacon, potatoes and cabbage totally reminded me of St. Patrick’s Day or something.  Hope you enjoyed the morning version of WannaBe Chef!  Now I’m off to have the leftovers for breakfast 🙂

 

One Response to “Eggs-cellent”

  1. Terri Says:

    Sure wish I had that sitting in front of me right now! My english muffin didn’t “hit the spot” today.


Leave a Reply

