WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

WannaBe Chef: Craft version August 11, 2010

Filed under: Life — WannaBe Chef @ 2:43 pm

I’m still alive, I swear!  I’m having a nice time at home.  So far, I’ve been to my sister and future bro-in-law’s bachelor/bachelorette party and also had a nice visit with my former coworkers.  It was really weird going back to “work,” and kinda sad, but nice to see everyone.  Unfortunately, I don’t think I can upload any pics from my camera to my mom’s computer, so that probably means no blogging till I get back.  But then I remembered I had these pics saved in my drafts to post after my sister had seen everything.  So today, I bring you a totally un-foodie post, but fun nonetheless. 

~~~~~

Awhile ago, I made my sister’s card box.  These are plain, square nesting boxes I ordered from www.sunshinecrafts.com.  First I cut out the center of the lid of the bottom box, and the bottom of the middle box, so the cards would fall through.  Next I cut the slot in the middle box.  Then I covered the top and bottom box with a shimmery gold fabric, then covered that with lace.  Her dress is mostly lace and has gold tones, so I was trying to imitate that a little.  The picture doesn’t do it justice, as the gold comes through much more.  I used a hot glue gun and double-sided tape to attach everything, so it looks a hot mess on the inside.  The middle box is covered with a shimmery ivory fabric and accented with a purple ribbon and blingy buckle.  We’re still planning on putting something on the top box, but not sure what yet.  I think it turned out pretty well!   

For the bach party, Erin told me she wanted to wear a veil and hinted in a not-so-subtle way that she wanted a purple veil…   

So I picked up about 2 yards (I think?) of shimmery purple tulle and a little black comb from JoAnn Fabrics.  I also decided it needed a little something sparkly and came across the purple sequins.  The veil is 2 layers and I just sewed each layer tightly around the comb and sewed the string of sequins along the edge of both layers.  I’ll try to post a pic of her wearing it in another post! 

I couldn’t leave Erin’s fiance, Jeff, out of the crafty fun, so I made him a shirt to wear.  After much googling, I decided on this saying….

I got the black t-shirt for about $5 at Target and I got the paint at JoAnn’s.  For the beer mug and engagement pic, I bought some iron-on transfers and just printed them right from my computer.  I free-handed the letters with bright green paint, and I think it turned out pretty well!  Everyone seemed to get a good laugh out of it, and I’ll try to post a pic of the groom wearing it too. 

This pic was taken before I outlined all the letters/numbers in darker green like on the front.

This little project was totally last minute.  I came across the sparkly purple iron-on letters while I was getting the transfers for Jeff’s shirt.  I was obsessed with them and had to think of something I could make to use them.  So I decided to make a simple tank top for Erin to wear on the wedding day while she’s getting her hair done.  I gave this to her as part of her bachelorette gift, and she seemed to like it! 

Well I hope you enjoyed seeing the crafty side of WannaBe Chef!  I have more things to show you, but can’t until later.  Not sure when I’ll be back with another post, but until then, toodles!

 

2 Responses to “WannaBe Chef: Craft version”

  1. You are so creative!! Everything you made looks great! Wow! Have fun at home!

  2. […] I have a fun foodie AND crafty project that I did for my sister’s wedding shower.  (See this post for other fun wedding projects I did!)  For part of her gift, I gave her these four “recipe […]


Leave a Reply

