WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Who lives in a pineapple… July 26, 2010

Filed under: Salad — WannaBe Chef @ 7:02 pm

Today I give you breakfast, lunch, and dinner!  Aren’t you excited?  I haven’t done a post like this in awhile, I think…? 

We shall start with breakfast, obviously.  I’ve been eating oatmeal and oatmeal pancakes for awhile, but today I decided I wanted eggs.  This is 1 egg + 1/4 cup whites, topped with a trio of amazing (salsa, sour cream, and TJ’s spicy black bean dip), and toast on the side.

Lunch was equally as yummy:  leftover corn chowder (tasted even better today!) and strawberries with cottage cheese on the side.

Then disaster struck 😦 Once I finished my soup, I was sitting there with the soup bowl on my lap, holding the strawberry bowl…. and I dropped it… into the soup bowl.  This is what happened…

Mom, I wish you didn’t have to see that.  I am going to try and glue it back together because, as you can see, it pretty much broke in half, and there are 2 smaller pieces underneath the cottage cheese.  *Sigh*

Onward to dinner.  I took inspiration again from my Cooking Light magazine (July 2010 issue) for this FAN-freaking-TASTIC salad. 

I won’t post the whole recipe here because it’s just a salad.  I say put whatever you want in a salad!  Just note though, this combination was EXCELLENT.  🙂  It had:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Red onions
  • Red bell peppers
  • Cilantro
  • Fresh pineapple
  • Feta cheese
  • Sauteed chicken, seasoned with chili powder, salt and grill seasoning

The dressing is what really made this salad foodgasmic.  I followed the recipe from Cooking Light pretty much exactly…

Spicy Pineapple Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces fresh pineapple, cubed (about 1/2 – 3/4 cup)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh cilantro (I used more because I LOVE it.)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 4 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp habanero pepper, minced (I used 1/2 of a teeny pepper and it was perfect.)
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • I added some sea salt too
  • 1/4 cup EVOO (I used 1/8 cup, or 2 tbsp)

Instructions:

  • Place all ingredients except oil into a blender and process until smooth.
  • Add the oil and process until well blended.

The dressing is green, you can see it in the lower left corner of the picture above, on top of that piece of lettuce.  I could drink this dressing, it was SO GOOD.  The heat is definitely there in the background and pairs perfectly with the sweet pineapple and fresh cilantro.  I will definitely be making this again, and I recommend you do too!!

 

3 Responses to “Who lives in a pineapple…”

  1. You are so strange. Who lives for cilantro? I mean it’s good, yes. In moderation. Haha.

    Let me know if you want me to email you the legit recipe..mine’s missing a few other ingredients that I’m sure would enhance the cilantro-esque tastes quite a bit.

    And your poor bowl!! That’s why I don’t use glass/breakable plates.. 🙂

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Ha, yes I am strange, and that may have been a stretch but I doooo love cilantro :-p And I glued the bowl back together! Yay for Krazy glue!

  2. That dressing sounds amazing…I need to make it soon!!!

    I can’t believe that happened to your bowl…that’s crazy!!


Leave a Reply

