WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Grocery Strike July 15, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Oatmeal,Sandwiches,Turkey,Vegetable,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 8:06 pm

Hello, friends.  I have random eats for you today.  I’ll start with last night’s dinner.  I’ve kinda been on grocery strike all week (aka, I just didn’t feel like going shopping).  All I had in the fresh produce department were 3 zucchinis from the farmer’s market that needed to be used up.  I sent out a plea via Twitter for ideas, and my blog friend Jill gave me the great idea of making zucchini noodles.  All you do is scrape the zucchini with a potato peeler to get long “noodles.”  Once you hit the seeds, you stop.  Now I need an idea of what to do with the zucchini inards!  Paired with some ground turkey, onions, jarred spaghetti sauce, and freshly grated parmesan cheese (secret ingredient!), this was a pretty darn decent meal! 

So breakfast this morning was equally as creative since we had no bread, no milk, or fresh fruit.  I came up with oatmeal (made with water and leftover evaporated milk from Wayne’s bday cake!) topped with banana soft serve and PB.  Wowwww, this was really good!  The temperature contrast reminded me of that ice cream topped brownie dessert you see in restaurants everywhere.  I will definitely be eating this again. 

This little man joined me while I ate breakfast in my PJs…

Lunch was the most pathetic of all… canned soup!  I didn’t photograph it for obvious reasons.  Blech.  I finally got my butt to the store after lunch.  I didn’t have a list or any meals planned… just wandered and picked stuff that looked good.  I never do this, so it was a little anxiety-producing and I kind of feel like I got $100 worth of what??  Anyway, I decided on simple wraps for dinner.  I would say at least 50% of what I bought was produce, so I will be eating stuff like this for awhile. 

On the side are blueberries and snap peas.  The wrap, from bottom to top has: 

  • Sabra Classic Hummus
  • Yellow tomato slices
  • Cucumber slices
  • BBQ sauce
  • my first ever Sriracha <—-Holy tongue-burning
  • Chicken
  • Red bell peppers

That’s all for today, everyone!  I’m off to watch SYTYCD and nurse the pounding, splitting headache I’ve had all day.  So far, I’ve tried:  taking my contacts out, drinking a jug of water, taking a nap, laying down, and now I’m drinking a Diet Coke for a little caffiene (I didn’t have my coffee this morning).  Nothing is working.  I know I should just take some Advil… but eh.  What do you do to remedy a headache?

 

5 Responses to “Grocery Strike”

  1. Your noodles look awesome! So glad you liked them. I am on a psuedo grocery strike for life now. What does this mean you ask?! I am making a concious effort to finish the things I have in my fridge/pantry before I buy more!

  2. I say you did pretty well in the eats department for being on a grocery strike! I’ve been wanting to make Jill’s zucchini noodles since I saw them on her blog! I am going to have to add them to the menu for next week after seeing yours!

    I LOVE me some Sriracha! I, too, just had it a few weeks ago and am hooked!

  3. Carrie Says:

    Sorry to confuse you with my posts. I have been terrible about blogging lately. As you read, we have been pretty busy on the weekends and I have been traveling for work during the week. The reason my posts look like they never stopped is because I back-date them. I use my blog as a guide for a photo album I will put together at the end of the year, so I like to “post” closer to the actual date of the event. Does that make sense?


Leave a Reply

