WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Freezer fun July 9, 2010

Filed under: Life — WannaBe Chef @ 10:24 am

Well, I’ve done it again.  I’ve left you postless for two days.  First, I will give you the excuses… Wayne was gone on business and I’ve been eating boring leftovers and salads, therefore providing no decent blog material.  Now I will give you the real reason… I’ve been feeling less than inspired about blogging lately.  I guess you could call it a rut.  I don’t really want to post meal-by-meal, but I don’t really have any good dinner recipes for “stand alone” posts either.  Meal planning has just been painfully excrutiating lately.  Coming up with dinners every week just seems like an impossible task.  I need a change or some food inspiration or a new cookbook or something!  Anyway, while I sulk, I decided to jazz up a post I’ve had saved in my drafts for like two months.  This is Wayne’s birthday weekend, so posting will probably continue to be irregular.  For now, I will leave you with a fun freezer tour!

*****

A lot of time, I find that I have a lot of extra sauces and ingredients in the fridge.  Instead of letting them sit there forever, then eventually having to throw them away, freezing is always a good option.  I mean, what do you do with that half jar of leftover pizza sauce or 2/3 of a can of tomato paste?  I’ve used lots of different methods to freeze stuff… here are a few…

1.  Here, I lined small containers with plastic wrap and poured 1/4 cup of leftover pizza sauce into each one.  Then I froze them, pulled the sauce out of the container, and put the “cubes” into a freezer bag.  These would be perfect for individual pita pizzas. 

2.  Here, I poured extra enchilada sauce into an ice cube tray, froze it, and popped them into a freezer bag.  Now I don’t have to open a new can next time I want a random burrito

3.  With the tomato paste, I placed individual tablespoons onto a small, lined baking sheet.  Then I froze them until they were solid, wrapped each one in plastic wrap, and put them in a freezer bag.  Next time a recipe calls for “1 Tbsp of tomato paste,” all I have to do is pull one out!   

4.  I did pretty much the same thing here with leftover chipotle in adobo.  First, I chopped up the actual peppers and then put teaspoonfulls onto a lined baking sheet.  I froze them, then put them into the freezer bag.  The little container is just the leftover adobo sauce without any chunks of peppers.  I’ve dipped into this bag many times since a teaspoon of this stuff goes a long way.  I love how one can of chipotle in adobo can last forever this way. 

I also like to freeze leftover food when I make large amounts of it.  This is individually wrapped portions of Southwest Shepherd’s Pie.  These pieces reheat very well and are perfect for those days when the grocery supply is low.  I always label the bags with the contents, date, and calories if possible.  

Frozen fruit is something I always try to keep on hand.  Whenever I have leftover bananas or bananas that are ripening too fast, I slice them up and add them to the banana bag.  These are great for smoothies, banana soft serve, or just on their own dipped in a little PB.  I don’t bother labelling these because I’m constantly eating them or adding more to the bag.  

More frozen fruit and my favorite Yoplait Smoothie mixes…

And of course you must have some frozen veggies.  I always have at least one bag of frozen broccoli on hand.  Throw it on a baking sheet (frozen) with some seasonings, roast at 400 until browned, and you have the world’s easiest veggie side dish.

Burger collection… perfect for quick lunches or dinners.

And finally, you see Wayne’s small collection of frozen treats.  (The Vita-Tops were mine though!).  Right now, our freezer may or  may not have TWO containers of ice cream in it, and a giant pizza… moderation, right?!

So there you have it, a tour of my freezer.  I hope you enjoyed it! 

Questions:

  • What’s the best thing you’ve made and/or eaten in the past week?
  • Anything you would like to see more or less of on the blog?
  • What’s the best thing in your freezer right now?
 

3 Responses to “Freezer fun”

  1. You’re so organized. I’m impressed. I made a mean New England Clam Chowder and a huge pot of gravy (the red stuff) and meatballs.

  2. Carrie Says:

    I know what you mean about being in a rut. With the hot weather here in Michigan the last thing I want to do is turn on my oven. Not much baking going on here.

  3. My freezer is basically for ice. Currently the only things in there are ice, edamame, organic fruit popsicles and some frozen papaya. That’s it.

    Thanks for sharing your freezer with us!


Leave a Reply

