WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I caved July 6, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Salad — WannaBe Chef @ 9:38 am

Hi, friends!  Sorry to leave you hanging for two days, but a little thing called Twilight may have gotten in the way of blogging.  If you read my last post, you know that Wayne and I rented Twilight and New Moon.  And if you saw the ending of New Moon, you know why I caved and had to see Eclipse in the theatre last night.  So there you have it, three days, three Twilight movies.  I never thought I would be one of those people, but here I am.  Everyone keeps saying the books are better, so maybe I need to get on the reading train.  Aaaanyway!  I will refrain from continuing my Twilight discussion and get into the food.  Before the movie, I made Chicken Caesar Salad… like full-on, homemade style!  If you’ve never done this, I recommend trying it at least once.   

Chicken Caesar Salad

For the salad:

  • Chicken breast, cut into strips and sauteed with seasonings of choice
  • Romaine lettuce – the real stuff that you actually have to cut and wash
  • Parmesan cheese – an actual wedge that you shave with a veggie peeler
  • Hard boiled eggs – you will need 4 of the yolks for the dressing
  • Bread of choice, cut or torn into pieces for croutons

For the dressing:

  • 4 yolks from 4 hard boiled eggs
  • 2 Tbsp or more of fresh parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tbsp light mayo
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (from about 1.5 lemons)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 squirts of anchovy paste or 2 whole anchovy fillets
  • 1 garlic clove
  • salt and pepper
  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender, then add olive oil last

For the croutons:

  1. Place bread cubes on a foil-lined baking sheet, spray or drizzle with olive oil and season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. 
  2. Bake at 375 for a few minutes until crunchy and lightly browned.  You may need to flip them once. 

The dressing does not taste like a bottled Caesar dressing.  Mine came out pretty lemony, so you may want to add a little more oil or extra cheese to balance it out.  I also added a little hot sauce, of course!  Overall, the salad was very tasty!  Definitely having leftovers for lunch today 🙂  Toodles for now.

 

2 Responses to “I caved”

  1. I just can’t get into Twilight. Haven’t read the books, haven’t seen the movie, I’m avoiding it like the plague.

    Glad to hear you had a good weekend though!

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Yeeah, I’m not exactly proud of it… but the movies are pretty entertaining slash addicting…


Leave a Reply

