WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Junk Galore! July 3, 2010

Filed under: Holiday,Life — WannaBe Chef @ 7:35 pm

Happy Fourth of July eve!  So far, my weekend has consisted of a lot of overindulging.  It started innocently enough with my first ever Passion Tea from Starbuck’s yesterday.  The guy convinced me that the Passion Tea Lemonade was better, so that’s what I had.  It was really good, but I think I will stick with the straight up tea next time since I don’t need the extra cals from the lemonade.

I had margaritas on the brain, and I was determined to have one last night.  We found a new-to-us Mexican restaurant, and I wasted no time ordering this “Midnight Margarita.”  It was pretty much the size of my head.

Despite drinking this monster and eating my weight in chips and salsa, I found it necessary to order another drink… this time a Strawberry Margarita on the rocks.  Had to represent the Fourth of July colors, right??  Sorry about the crappy cell phone pics here!  Plus, the sun was shining right on our table.

And let’s not forget our actual dinner.  I have no idea why we ordered food, but after repeated pressure from the waiter, we did.  I had the “Azteca Salad.”  I took a cell phone pic, but it’s so terrible, you can’t even tell it’s a salad.  Anyway, I was pretty impressed with this salad… it had grilled chicken/shrimp/mushrooms, carrot ribbons, red bell peppers, SEEDLESS cucumber rounds, fresh pico de gallo, and AVOCADO.  Very impressive, indeed.  However, I could only stomach about 1/4 of it and the rest went into a doggy bag.  We came back to the apt for awhile to digest slash try not to pass out by 6:30 PM!!  I’ve become a complete lightweight and don’t drink very often.  Awhile later, we went to a nearby bar… had some more drinks (including my beloved Disaronno and Diet!)… and… and… a basket of fries!!  Mind you, this was hours after the Mexican place, but jeeeez, just not necessary.  So I started out this morning with the desire to eat very light today, and I had this glorious bowl of fresh strawberries and pears with PB and poppy seeds.  It was seriously the best breakfast I’ve had in a LONG time.

Then we were off to the beach… well… lake. 

I packed a little lunch cooler that contained turkey sandwiches, BBQ chips (both unpictured) and peppers with hummus. 

We lasted almost 2 hours in the sun then headed out.  The healthy-ish eating was going fine until Wayne dug out a coupon for Papa Murphy’s take-and-bake pizza.  I tried to fight it, I really did…

but I was weak.  And we didn’t really have any groceries to make a decent dinnner.  And the coupon expired today.  And I’m weak.  I’m feeling a little guilty, but it all balances out in the end I suppose.  Now Wayne and I going to watch two movies that I swore I’d never watch… Twilight and New Moon!!!  Aaahhh… I guess I’ll finally get to see what all the hype is about!  Hope you all are having a great holiday weekend so far!!  Toodles for now 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Junk Galore!”

  1. Love, love, love Passion Iced Tea! I agree the lemonade is just not as good!

    Sometimes Papa Murphy’s wins!! 🙂 What did you get on it…it looks amazing!

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Our coupon was for 2 pizzas with 1 topping each… so this one had green olives on it, and the one in our freezer has chicken on it. Soooo good!


Leave a Reply

