WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Dress nightmares and purple tulle June 29, 2010

Filed under: Life,Meatless,Side dish,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:36 pm

Hola, bloglettes!  Sorry for leaving you post-less yesterday.  I was much too mentally exhausted from trying on at least 30 dresses in hopes of finding something to wear to:  1 bachelorette party, 2 wedding rehearsals, 1 wedding, and 1 wedding shower.  Shoot me now.  I don’t see why it’s so difficult to find a couple affordable, summery, appropriate dresses for a tall girl.  Not being a “junior” anymore, but also not being 50 years old left me with few options.  Aaaanyway… good news is that after many purchases and returns, I finally have the outfit lineup set.  Now only if my skin wasn’t see-through and I had some cute shoes…. The errands continued today, and I got a lot accomplished (including groceries, finally) woooot!  That’s where the purple tulle comes in.  I’m not gonna say anymore, though, on the 0.05% chance my sister actually reads my blog.  Unlike yesterday, I did manage to snap a couple pics of my food today.

Breakfast was comprised of the few groceries I had in the house… 2 over-easy eggs and 2 pieces of toast.  I doused the eggies in Frank’s after I took the pic since the red stuff can look a little disturbing at times.

Lunch was thrown together veeery quickly once I got home… I was on the verge of hangry.  Monster salad contains:  Romaine, pea-less sugar snap pea pods, turkey, Sabra Classic hummus, Cholula (my first time having this, yum!), and a little light Ranch. 

Din din was this delicious, pre-seasoned salmon… with a pop-up timer?!  Has anyone out there ever seen a salmon fillet with a pop-up timer?!

I also whipped up these little gems…

These were beyond fantastic.  Here’s what I did:

  1. Sautee veggies and seasonings of choice – I used mushrooms, broccoli, roasted red peppers, and onions seasoned with S&P.
  2. Cut a baguette into slices on a severe angle to get the most surface area.  Line up on a baking sheet covered in foil.
  3. Spread each slice of bread with a little real mayo and minced garlic.
  4. Top with the sauteed veggies and some cheese – I used feta and mozzarella.
  5. Broil for a couple minutes until cheese browns. 

Here’s the recipe I used as my outline… I pretty much used all the same ingredients but changed up the method a little.

Mayo might sound strange (it did to me at least), but it was definitely the clutch ingredient and paired beautifully with the garlic, veggies and cheese.  These were so easy to make, and I can think of a ton of different combinations that would be equally as yummy!  

Questions:

  • Are you tan?  Have you ever had a spray tan or “mystic” tan? 
  • Do you enjoy wearing dresses?
  • What’s your favorite hot sauce? 
 

3 Responses to “Dress nightmares and purple tulle”

  1. Answers 😉

    1) I try to tan outside, although I’m easily bored so unless I’m swimming I’m never out long. And I used to fake bake back in my early college years, and although I was never that awesome orange color looking back I still think I look stupid! (I’m like ‘jill, really?! a tan, it’s freaking winter in this picture!)

    2) I LIVE for dresses in the summer. But not really dressy dresses, mostly simple ones I can just throw on and look put together without even trying.

    3) As for hot sauce, SRIRACHA!!!!

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Yeeeah, I used to fake bake a LOT in college… did it for my wedding last year too and haven’t been since b/c it’s just not good. I am a die-hard Frank’s lover, and I’ve never had Sriracha! I knooow, I think the food blog gods might strike me down now!

  2. I hate dress shopping because just as you said…I don’t dress from the juniors section, nor am I 80. Ugh!

    Those veggie melts are making me drool on the computer…I think I need dinner. They look so good, i am definitely going to have to duplicate them soon!


Leave a Reply

