WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Not too shabby June 27, 2010

Filed under: Pasta — WannaBe Chef @ 6:33 pm

Hello, ladies and gents(?).  I’m waist-high in maid of honor wedding duties here.  How has your weekend been?  Of course, I managed to find time to EAT today!  My farmer’s market strawberries were going south fast, so I took one for the team and ate the rest of them a-top an oatmeal pancake this morning.  It wasn’t a difficult task. 

One berry per bite!

Lunch was at Chipotle, and dinner was inspired by this recipe, found in one of those baby magazines you get in the check-out line:

I made some modifications, and didn’t really go by the measurements listed because I had limited ingredients.  I used the recipe as more of an outline and general idea.  Here’s what I did…

  1. Cook up some whole-wheat angel hair pasta
  2. Sautee finely chopped turkey bacon and onions in a dab of olive oil until browned
  3. Once the pasta is done, drain and set aside.  In the same pan make a roux with approx. 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp flour.  Add some skim milk (1/2 – 3/4 cup maybe), whisk whisk whisk to avoid lumps, season with salt and pepper, and bring to a boil to thicken. 
  4. Add some fresh or frozen peas and edamame (about 1 cup total).  Then add the bacon and onion mixture and pasta.  Stir to combine and heat through.  Stir in lots of parmesan cheese, and adjust seasonings if needed. 

Not too shabby!  Now I’m off to edit my list of “wedding duties” and to-dos.  I can’t believe it’s almost JULY!  Toodles for now!

 

One Response to “Not too shabby”

  1. Good luck with all the wedding duties!

    Your pasta looks AMAZING! It’s making me want to have pasta for breakfast!


Leave a Reply

