WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Farmer’s Market Finds June 26, 2010

Filed under: Fruit,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 6:20 pm

Hiiiiiii!  Today I’m going to try and give you a more “regular” post.  Likey?  So I finally got myself to a farmer’s market today.  Here’s what we got:

  • Beets – $2
  • Gigantic, crispy, sugar snap peas – $3
  • Red potatoes – $3
  • Strawberries – $4.50

Total of $12.50.  Does that seem a little pricey or no?  I don’t have much to compare it to…

Seriously, just look at those.  They tasted just as good as they looked… and worth every penny!  Lunch consisted of a leftover half of a sweet potato with Sabra Greek Olive hummus, leftover asparagus, and market berries and peas. 

For dinner, I wanted to do something with the beets and potatoes.  Since I’ve never cooked fresh beets before, I googled and then decided to just roast/steam them in a covered baking dish with a little water and seasoning.  I cooked them at 400 for about 1 hour until tender, then remove the skins.  I also decided I didn’t want to waste all the greens, so I sauteed/steamed them with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper, and a splash of red wine vinegar.  The potatoes were simply roasted with salt, pepper and garlic powder. 

 

Beets:  Way yummy
Potatoes:  Very delicious (especially with the ketchup I added later!)
Beet greens:  Ehhhh… it was a texture thing

Two outta three ain’t bad!

 

4 Responses to “Farmer’s Market Finds”

  1. erin Says:

    Yeah, You finally made it!!
    You can try a little honey or sweetner with the greens if you want try them again.

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      ERINNNN. I totally almost called you to ask how you cook your beets and greens, but I knew you were camping, so I just googled! Good call with the honey, but I think it was the texture that I didn’t like so much. Maybe I needed to cook them longer…

  2. That does seem a bit pricey….which one did you go to? It might just be because it’s still early in the season. Aren’t farmers market strawberries the best? Waaaay better than grocery store strawberries if you ask me 🙂

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      We went to one in Apple Valley… corner of Co Rd 42/Galaxie. I think it just started this weekend or maybe last weekend. Tried to find one in Burnsville that I saw online a couple weeks ago, but it was nowhere to be found. Yeah I don’t know if I can eat grocery store berries now!!


Leave a Reply

