WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Our first visitors: Part 2 June 22, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Life — WannaBe Chef @ 3:39 pm

Part 2 = Saturday.  First, we had to start off the day with a proper breakfast.  I had my Quick Crustless Quiche planned, so we had that with some toast and fruit.  I’ve made this quiche many times before, and this one had spinach, onions, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, cheddar cheese, and turkey bacon.  I topped mine with lots of salsa. 

We decided Saturday would be “downtown Minneapolis” day.  Wayne did some googling and found out that the Stone Arch Festival was going on, so that’s where we ended up! 

There were a TON of vendor booths full of pottery, paintings, and everything in between.  My cousin is going to be a pilot and is obsessed with everything to do with planes, so my aunt bought him this plane… handmade from a Sprite can!

We also dabbled in some festival food, of course.  First up was homemade kettle corn.  It might not look like much, but this was hands-down, no question, the BEST popcorn I’ve ever had.  Ever.  It was very light and crispy with just a hint of sweetness, therefore making it extremely addicting!  I would have been happy just eating this for the rest of the day.

Then we saw a booth labeled “Walleye on a Stick,” and Wayne couldn’t resist.  I had one of the little nuggets, and it was amazing, crunchy, melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness. 

We wandered around for awhile longer and stopped at a very busy bar/restaurant for lunch.  Can’t remember the name of it for the life of me, though. 

Adult beverages

Chili cheese fries and chips and salsa shared among the table

After our fat lunch, we walked for what seemed like hourssss trying to find a museum that Wayne saw online.  We finally found it, and I thought it was just OK.  These are some pics from the walk and from way up high in the museum.  The view was pretty spectacular!

Whew, that was a lot of pictures!  I do have a couple pics of Wayne, the fam and I, but I think my mom would fly back here and kill me if I posted them!  Perhaps I will be brave and post the ones I took on Sunday 🙂  Stay tuned for the last part of the weekend!

 

4 Responses to “Our first visitors: Part 2”

  1. Oh, how I love Minneapolis!! Such fun! And it looks like you had a great time at the festival!!

  2. Ashley Says:

    That festival looks like so much fun! I need to quit school and just travel around and visit people – you and Wayne are first on the list!

  3. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh it looks like you had so much fun!


Leave a Reply

