WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Our first visitors: Part 1 June 21, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Oatmeal,Shrimp — WannaBe Chef @ 11:19 am

Hello loves!!  It’s so nice to be back after totally unplugging from my computer all weekend.  Along with catching you up on my fun weekend, I have a LOT of blog reading to do!  So anyway, after much deliberation about how to write these posts, I finally just decided to take the predictable route and go day by day.  First up is Thursday night and Friday.  My mom and aunt arrived at my second home the airport around 5:30 PM on Thursday.  Poor auntie was sick from the evil plane snack/turbulence/unknown sources, but after a trip to the restroom and some rest, we were off.  The weather was totally sketchy, but we made it back to the apartment before the rain/wind/tornado warnings and creepy highlighter-yellow skies hit.  I had dinner all ready to go:  Shrimp Taco Salad bar.

On the bar:

  • Crushed tortilla chips
  • Fresh salsa
  • Avocado
  • Tomatoes
  • Romaine
  • Sour cream thinned with water
  • Lime wedges
  • Cilantro
  • Corn
  • Sharp cheddar cheese
  • Black beans
  • Peeled, deveined, pre-cooked, tail-less shrimp heated through with:
    olive oil, lime juice, chipotle in adobo, syrup, cumin, and minced garlic
  • Homemade Spicy Lime Vinaigrette (I made 2 batches)

This salad was a big hit!  I love doing food bars for company.  That way, everyone can have exactly what they want.  I love bars so much, that I planned one for breakfast on Friday morning.  Thursday night, I made everyone an Oatmeal Pancake consisting of: 1/3 cup quick oats, 3/4 tsp baking powder, lots of cinnamon, pinch salt, splash vanilla, and 1/3 cup liquid egg whites.  After those sat overnight, I cooked ’em up and everyone topped their pancake with whatever they wanted.

On the breakfast bar:

  • Bananas
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Light syrup
  • Sugar-free syrup
  • Toasted pecan pieces
  • Sunbutter
  • Naturally More PB

I forgot to take pics of the finished pancakes, but I’m sure you’ve seen enough of them on the blog!  This bar was another huge hit.  My mom has been patiently waiting to try an oatmeal pancake, and I think this one exceeded expectations!  After breakfast, mom, auntie and I went to the mall (not the mall, but a smaller one) and did some shopping and roaming.  Wayne had to stay back and get some work done.  The pancakes held us over for a LONG time, so all we had for lunch was RED MANGO!!!  Yuuummmmm.  I had Madagascar vanilla fro yo with raspberries, mangoes, and my first ever mochi.  Loved them!  They tasted like soft, chewy marshmallows. 

After our little shopping trip, we picked Wayne up and headed out to an early dinner at Axel’s Bonfire.  I had a refreshing glass of Riesling and the woodfire baked Taco pizza.  My mom had the BBQ Chicken pizza, and we exchanged a piece.  Mine was very good, but I think I liked hers better!  Wayne got their special rotisserie chicken and shared a bite… it was AMAZING.  My aunt had a mango chicken sandwich which she liked a lot.  Overall, a great meal… love this restaurant! 

After dinner, we all went to see Toy Story 3 in 3-D.  It was hilarious, adorable, and full of adult humor.  We all loved it, and I highly recommend seeing it!  🙂 

Whew!  Well, that’s it for Thursday and Friday!  Stay tuned for parts 2 and 3 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Our first visitors: Part 1”

  1. So glad that you weekend started wonderfully!! Your shrimp taco salad bar looks AWESOME!!

  2. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife Says:

    Sounds like the start to a fun weekend! Joey and I are going to see Toy Story 3 on Thursday and I am SOOOO excited!!


Leave a Reply

