WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Life changing dessert June 13, 2010

Filed under: Fruit,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 10:07 am

Hello, friends!  It’s been a minute.  Let’s do a quick weekend review before I discuss an amazing dessert I finally made last night.  Friday I may have eaten out twice… lunch at Panera and dinner at a new-to-us place called Enjoy!  Panera was obviously delicious (Stawberry Poppyseed Salad, what?).  Enjoy!, however, was quite disappointing.  It was a little more fancy and pricey than we’re used to, but we were OK with that since we heard the food was great.  I got the saffron risotto with chicken and asparagus, and Wayne got the lobster ravioli.  First of all, the portions were quite small for the price.  Wayne’s pasta was a little chewy, aka undercooked, and he ate the whole small plate in like 5 bites.  My risotto was also a tad undercooked, and while the flavor was OK, it was sitting in a couple tablespoons of oil/grease.  It was pretty much like glorified rice-a-roni.  On a positive note, the service and bread basket were good! 

Saturday we tried to find a farmer’s market that supposedly started, but it was nowhere to be found 😦  I was sad.  Instead, we dropped some $$ at Cub on enough groceries for a few days until Wayne leaves yet again (note: we spent less on food for 3-4 days than we did on the meal at Enjoy!).  He picked out what he wanted for dinner, and to no one’s surprise, it revolved around meat!  I made cube steak with mushroom gravy and green beans.  It was actually very tasty for just throwing it together.  The picture is really bad, though, so I’ll spare you.  Then, I made the best decision I’ve made in a long time.  I decided to try some Banana Soft Serve.  This stuff is ALL OVER the blogosphere, all the time.  I’ve said before that I don’t like a dominant banana flavor in my smoothies, so I have always steered clear of the soft serve since it only has one ingredient: frozen bananas!  Well, curiosity got the best of me and I threw some frozen banana slices into my mini food processor (along with some PB and a splash of milk to get it going).  Let me tell you, people, my life has been changed.  It barely tastes “banana-y,” but instead like light and fluffy ice cream!  I’m not 100% sure who started the Banana Soft Serve movement.  After googling, my best guess is that it came from Choosing RawClick that link for an awesome step-by-step tutorial and amazing description!  Please correct me if I’m wrong about the originator! 

 

4 Responses to “Life changing dessert”

  1. spabettie Says:

    yes, I believe you are correct @ Choosing Raw…

    This is so so yum, I make mine with peanut butter a lot… 🙂

    I used to love Panera…

  2. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i have yet to try this and need too!

  3. […] ripening too fast, I slice them up and add them to the banana bag.  These are great for smoothies, banana soft serve, or just on their own dipped in a little PB.  I don’t bother labelling these because […]

  4. […] oatmeal (made with water and leftover evaporated milk from Wayne’s bday cake!) topped with banana soft serve and PB.  Wowwww, this was really good!  The temperature contrast reminded me of that ice cream […]


Leave a Reply

