WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Experiments June 10, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Fish,Oatmeal — WannaBe Chef @ 6:48 pm

Bonjour, my dears.  I had some very tasty treats today, so let’s chat…

Breakfast:  So I think I found a way to make my beloved oatmeal pancakes even better.  Yes, you read that right.  Last night while I was lying in bed going insane trying to fall asleep, it came to me.  OAT BRAN.  Yes, I bring you the oat bran pancake.

Oat Bran Pancake
makes 1 serving

  • 1/3 cup oat bran
  • 1/3 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 banana, halved
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • lots of cinnamon
  • pinch salt
  • splash vanilla
  1. Smash half of the banana in a bowl
  2. Add the oat bran and other dry ingredients
  3. Stir in the vanilla and egg whites, and combine everything well
  4. Let mixture sit for about 2-3 minutes to let it thicken a little
  5. Cook pancake till golden brown on both sides
  6. Top with the other half of the banana, 1/8 cup light syrup, and 1/2 Tbsp PB

WOW.  That’s all I can say.  This thing was HUGE and puffed up more than my usual oatmeal pancake.  I could barely finish it!  This whole plate, toppings included, has about 330 calories which is the perfect amount to keep my full for 4+ hours.  (FYI:  the pancake base (oats+egg white+seasonings) has 140 calories, so you can make it as high or low-cal as you want.)  YUUMMMM.  Wanna see the fluffy inside?   

Lunch:  Big ole salad with just romaine, strawberries, feta and raspberry vinaigrette.  On the side is half of a flat out wrap filled with deli chicken, miracle whip light, tomatoes, and fresh basil. 

Dinner:  I like to call dinner an experiment.  I’m not quite sure what to call it, but it was very loosely based on this recipe.  I sort of just remembered the basic ingredients and threw this together.  It turned out pretty well!

Baked Salmon over Veggies and Orzo Broth  <—longest name ever
measurements and times are approximate, as usual! 
Makes 2 servings 

  • 2 salmon fillets
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup dry orzo
  • 1 small package sliced, white mushrooms
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped in large-ish pieces
  • 1-2 jarred roasted red peppers, chopped
  • 5-6 small green onions, sliced
  • handful fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • seasonings to taste:  Worchestershire sauce, hot sauce, salt/pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and parmesan cheese
  1. Season the salmon with salt, pepper and garlic powder – bake at 400 to desired doneness
  2. Bring the broth to a boil in a high-sided skillet, add the orzo.  Let the orzo boil for a few minutes, then add the zucchini, mushrooms, and red peppers.
  3. Let the veggie/orzo mixture boil/simmer until veggies are tender and orzo is al dente.
  4. Stir in the green onions and basil.
  5. I added some more broth at this point to make it more “soup-like.” 
  6. Add seasonings, tasting and adjusting along the way.
  7. Pour “soup” into two bowls, top with a little parm and the cooked salmon.  Flake the salmon into the soup as you eat.  Yum!

That’s all for today, friends!  I’m excited for that 2% pineapple Chobani later!  Hehe. 

Let’s try some questions:

  • Do you like to follow recipes or “create” meals and see what happens?
  • Do you like feta cheese?  I loooove, love, love it, but some people I know absolutely hate it.
  • Ever tried an oatmeal pancake?  In case you haven’t noticed, I could probably eat them every day for the rest of my life 🙂
 

3 Responses to “Experiments”

  1. Erin Says:

    I just bought some goat feta at the Richland farmers market, it’s made at a creamery in Mattawan. I haven’t tried it yet, but I hope it’s good.

  2. Sometimes I’ll follow recipes, but more often than not it’s just steam whatever veggies I have in the house and toss in some Asian inspired sauce.

    Weekends I’ll try to pull out a cookbook and do something a little more fun, but I’ve been boring lately…

  3. That pancake looks amazingly fluffy! I’ve been wanting a hearty and healthy pancake recipe.


Leave a Reply

