WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

That is all. June 8, 2010

Filed under: Life,Oatmeal,Sandwiches,Turkey,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:06 pm

Just a couple things I want to say before I get to the food:

  • As you may remember from this post, I love me some Lady Gaga.  Well, the queen’s new video for “Alejandro” came out today (watch it HERE!).  I absolutely loved it, along with all her other videos.  Yes, my eyes widened and my jaw dropped during a few parts.  Yes, it’s racy/controversial/thought-provoking/weird/and a hundred other adjectives.  But that’s the whole point, people!  That’s the beauty of Gaga.  She doesn’t do weird just to do weird.  She does weird to make a point and get a message across.  You may not understand it, but don’t hate what you don’t understand!!  That is all.  Just sayin’.
  • I did my second “real” day of The Shred today (still Level One, obviously).  It wasn’t a whole lot easier, but I shall press on.  That is all.

Now let’s forge on with some food.  Breakfast was another oatmeal pancake!  Nope, still not sick of ’em yet.  In fact, with some minor tweeks, I’m liking them even more.  So, don’t count on them going away anytime soon.  Today’s mix was:

  • 1/3 cup quick oats
  • 1/3 cup liquid egg whites (from a carton)
  • pinch salt
  • lots of cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder

I forgot to make this last night, so I thought I’d just try it without the whole “refrigerate overnight” thing.  (It did sit in the fridge for like a half hour, though).  I think I liked it even better this way!! 

Lunch was a glorious, delicious wrap.  Why don’t I have wraps more often?  Anyway, I saw a bloggie (aah, can’t remember who though!!) who grilled some veggies on a Foreman grill, and I thought to myself “BRILLIANT.”  So in this Flat-Out wrap is grilled summer squash that I seasoned w/salt and balsamic, then combined with hummus, lettuce and just a wee bit of Light Ranch.  Oh-em-geeeee this was good. 

Then I made a quick trip to SuperTarget (again) and met a new friend.  His name is Sunbutter, and he was on sale.  I’ve been stalking him for a long time now in the blogosphere and finally decided to say hhhaaayyyy!  After a taste, I only wish we would have met sooner..

Then I added to my Chobani collection.  I can’t even tell you how much I love the raspberry.  I have never been excited about yogurt before, until now.  And I don’t even need any add-ins, I just eat it plain!  Which is saying a lot for me and my “gag texture” thing.  Raspberry is where it’s at.  Oh, and I thought I’d throw in a 2% pineapple since I’d never had it before.

Dinner was a simple turkey burger and salad of romaine, toms, amazing sugar snap peas, feta, balsamic and EVOO.  I haven’t had much meat lately, so the burger actually really hit the spot. 

And that is all for today.

 

4 Responses to “That is all.”

  1. I wonder if Sunbutter is on sale at my SuperTarget….

    I’ve also been holding off buying it because, well, I’m cheap and $2 Natural Skippy usually does the trick.

    I might have to go stalk it out in my neck of the woods. Thanks for the sale tip!

  2. SunButter Lover Says:

    Welcome to the SunButter family! As a foodie, I encourage you to try some of the recipes on the SunButter site—or try one of your own (just substitute SunButter in any recipe that calls for peanut butter). I get to blog about this product. So if you try something, please share it on your blog and let us know and we’ll link on back to yours.


Leave a Reply

