WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Exercise and a first from the hubby June 7, 2010

Filed under: Life,Meatless — WannaBe Chef @ 6:59 pm

Hello, my peeps!  I’m back with a semi-normal post.  Get ready for a little wordiness here.  First, I’d like to talk a little bit about working out.  If you’ve been reading my blog for very long, you may have noticed that I never talk about working out.  Well, as much as I’d like to say I workout and just don’t talk about it, I can’t!  I have a love/hate relationship with exercise, and by that I mean it’s mostly hate.  I never played sports growing up and had never seen the inside of a gym until college.  Since then, I’ve gone in and out of exercise phases.  I workout consistently for a few months, usually “for” some event like spring break, a vacation or wedding, then I get bored and take a “break.”  Also, I have a definite “all or nothing” personality, which isn’t really a good thing when it comes to working out.  I feel like if I don’t workout 5-6 days a week like a crazy person, then what’s the point?  Surely taking a walk twice a week isn’t going to do anything, so why do it at all??  Yeeeeaah, I know, I know.  So, I’ve been on a “break” from any consistent exercise for quite awhile now.  With the exception of a handful of elliptical sessions and walks, I haven’t done much since just after my wedding in April ’09!!!!!!!  Aaahh, did I really just write that?  While I have put on a few pounds since my wedding, I don’t consider it a huge deal since I was at my lowest weight ever for my wedding, which lastest about 2 minutes, I’m sure.  So anyway, while I would like to lose 5-10 pounds (the same damn 5-10 pounds I’ve gained/lost a hundred times…), I’m more bothered by all the squish and flab.  Our apartment complex has a fitness center, but it’s a pretty sad little place, and the thought of doing the same old elliptical routine day after day makes me cringe.  So, last week I blew up my exercise ball, unrolled my yoga mat, and dug out my hand weights and seriously old Core Secrets dvd.  I also bought Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred dvd.  The first day I tried the Shred, I couldn’t even make it halfway through Level One.  For the next two days, I had serious issues with walking thanks to the lovely “squat presses” that I barely even did!  I quickly realized how out of shape I am.  And thanks to my years of “phoning it in at the gym,” as Jillian would say, I am definitely NOT used to strength training.  Today, I sucked it up and made it though Level One, sort of…  It definitely feels kind of good to be sore again, and I’m hoping to keep it up and eventually make it all the way through Level One without taking any breaks.  I debated on whether or not to post about this because it kind of makes me accountable…. eeekk!  ANYWAY, since this is a food blog, I should probably give you a little something to munch on… 

Speedy Tamale Pie
Based on recipe found HERE with topping taken from recipe HERE

Bean mixture:
2 cans pinto beans, rinsed/drained
1 zucchini, chopped
1 small can green chilis
1 can corn (use 1 cup here and remainder in topping)
1 cup frozen edamame
1 cup salsa
2 tsp chili powder
salt, hot sauce to taste
shredded cheddar cheese and light sour cream for topping, optional

Topping:
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup cornmeal
3/4 cup fat-free milk
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp Splenda (or regular sugar)
1 egg white
salt, chili powder
remainder of corn from above

  • Combine bean mixture ingredients in a large saute pan and let boil/simmer for about 10 minutes
  • Pour bean mixture into a baking dish coated with cooking spray
  • Spread topping mixture evenly over bean mixture
  • Bake at 400 F for about 20-30 minutes or until bubbly around the edges
  • Top with cheese and cook another couple minutes until melted, if desired
  • Top individual serving with sour cream and hot sauce if desired

Ok, so here’s the deal with this dinner… I’ve said before that Wayne is not picky and will eat or try just about anything I make.  Even if he doesn’t “like” it that much, he will usually still say something like “It was OK.”  Well, tonight was a first.  After he finished his whole plate, he let out a sound similar to “Eeeeuugghhh!!”  That would have been plenty to get his point across, but he continued to say that it didn’t have any flavor and that he didn’t want me to pack him a lunch tomorrow if this stuff was in it!!!!  I was shocked.  Sheeeesh!  I will admit, it may have been a little bland, but it wasn’t that bad!  If you make this, I would suggest pumping up the seasonings and maybe using just one can of pinto beans, as they overpowered the dish using two cans.  Also, I skipped the canned tomatoes because I thought the salsa was enough, but you might wanna use them for the extra moisture.  Not that I really expect you to make this after Wayne’s glowing review lol!

 

9 Responses to “Exercise and a first from the hubby”

  1. mom Says:

    LOL, I’ve had Jillian’s 30 day shred dvd for 3 weeks now. That’s all I’m gonna say!

  2. mom Says:

    That wasn’t very nice Wayne…

  3. Weight training is definitely the way to go when it comes to losing fat. Great job getting yourself motivated to start working out again. It’s never too late to start over!

    Good luck with the 30 day shred 😀

  4. Jillian’s Shred kicks everyone’s ass the first time. It gets so much easier, I promise.

    PS let me know if you ever want to meet up for a run. Now that you live in Minnesota you should probably get to know the lakes. And which ones are the fun ones to run around.

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Thanks SO, SO, SO MUCH for the invite! But running and I are arch enemies. In fact, I haven’t ran a day in my life since high school gym class! I’m pretty sure I would die right there on the spot. It’d still be fun to meet up though 🙂

  5. ashmarie03 Says:

    I’m bummed that it doesn’t taste as good as it looks because I was really looking forward to trying it! lol…

    Maybe I’ll try your modification suggestions and make it anyway!

  6. […] was one of THREE huge leftover portions of Speedy Tamale Pie.  Uuughh, this was not at all what I wanted, but it had to be done.  I loaded it up with salsa […]


Leave a Reply

