WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

WannaBe Vegetarian June 3, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Meatless,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 6:33 pm

Just another veggie filled day here in sunny ‘sota.  I could definitely be a vegetarian… about 80% of the time I’d say.  If it weren’t for my highly carnivorous husband, however, I would up that percentage to 90 or 95.  I just don’t think I could live without the occasional chicken breast or *gasp* steak.  After some experimenting, though, I have really learned to love tofu.  More on that in a little bit.  Let’s start from the beginning…  (p.s. I do NOT post everything I eat, just so you know!)

Breakfast:  1/2 cup egg whites scrambled with 1/2 ounce light chive & onion cream cheese and topped with Frank’s, slice of toast w/margarine, and strawberries.  I dunno what it is, but I just can’t stomach eggs like I used to.  I barely got these down, and there’s no way I can eat eggs without toast or some kind of bread.  We’ll be going back with the oatmeal pancake tomorrow 🙂

Lunch:  Told you I was making more cucumber salad today!  Same thing as yesterday, except I put it on top of a ginormous amount of romaine that needed to be used up.  I also doubled the dressing ingredients.  The pic does not do it justice… this salad was HUGE.  It literally took about 30 minutes to eat and my jaw was starting to get sore from chewing!

Have I ever showed you all a picture of my beloved fruit bars?  I am OBSESSED with these.  They’re from Target.  Tastes like 20 compacted fruit roll-ups.  Only 65 calories.  This is by far the best flavor, in my opinion.  I just bought 2 more boxes today. 

This one was seriously lacking on the yogurt drizzle...

Dinner:  Now, let’s talk tofu.  As I was saying, I have learned to really love it.  At first, I was not liking the spongy texture.  All the vegetarian/vegans out there will laugh, but I never knew you were supposed to press tofu before using it!!  Needless to say, this little process has greatly improved the texture, as it gets a majority of the liquid out. 

So anyway, I sliced a block of extra-firm tofu into 9 slices, sandwiched them in a clean kitchen towel, and put a bunch of heavy pans on top and let it sit for about 30 minutes or so.  Then I layed them in a shallow pan and poured a marinade of chicken broth (ha, so much for being vegetarian!), soy sauce, rice vinegar, soy sauce, garlic and ginger over it.  I let it marinate all day (about 7-8 hours), flipping each slice about halfway through.  Then I cut the slices into cubes and simply cooked them in a saute pan with 1/2 tsp oil until golden brown.   

The veggies (1 zucchini, 1 summer squash, 1/2 package mushrooms, 1/3 red pepper, 3 green onions – I ate half of the pan) were cooked in 2 tsp oil in a hot saute pan.  I let the squashes cook for awhile first, then added the mushrooms, peppers and onions.  The key is to make sure the oil gets hot first and cook everything at a high temp, otherwise it steams and never browns.  I also added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a splash of the tofu marinade at the end. 

This may look like a humble little plate of veggies and tofu.  Even I was fooled at first, expecting it to be pretty mediocre.  It was SOOOO GOOD though.  The tofu is still a little bit soft when it’s heated, but when paired with the still-crisp veggies, it was amaaaze.  And of course, the marinade made all the difference!  There’s a lot leftover, too 🙂

 

8 Responses to “WannaBe Vegetarian”

  1. Liz Says:

    Looks delicious! Tofu is so much better when marinaded for a while and cooked until crispy.

  2. sophia Says:

    I don’t like tofu either, mostly because of its blandness. I like it mixed with minced pork and shaped into patties, though. A bit of pork does wonders to the tofu! 🙂

  3. Have you tried baking tofu yet? I just learned how to do it and it’s my new favorite way to eat tofu. Less fried-tasting. I’m jealous of your squash–I haven’t had any yet this summer!

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      I’ve baked tofu once, but my marinade was funky and it didn’t really turn out. I’ll have to play around with it some more! Yes, the squashes were the best part of the meal… esp the yellow squash… obsessed 🙂

  4. Carrie Says:

    I love those bars from Target!

  5. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i am with you about the veggie thing….i am almost a veggie fulltime-so many good things to eat!

  6. Hey Amanda!
    This is Danielle, one of the interns you had this past fall. First of all congrats on your husbands job that is very awesome! (well at least for him, I’m sure you had to leave lots of friends and family behind) I love to read your blog every now and again, its incredible and you should have your own cooking show!! Anyways I was reading your post and couldn’t help but tell you there is something called a “flexitarian.” Its were you eat about 90% vegetarian and occasionally you have some meat. This women at the ADA spoke on it and she has a book! It’s called “The Flexitarian Diet” By Dawn Jackson Blatner. So if your interest you should get this cook. Hope all is well, and you are enjoying not working! 🙂

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Haha you are too kind! Thanks for still reading. Yes, I have heard of the whole flexitarian thing, very interesting concept! If I didn’t have to cook for Wayne, I think I would consider myself one. So how have you been? Have you taken the RD exam yet or found a job?


Leave a Reply

