WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

All about ME! June 1, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Meatless,One dish meal,Salad — WannaBe Chef @ 6:30 pm

Did I get your attention with my conceited title?  Hehe.  Fortunately, this post will not be all about me.  You can thank me later.  What I’m referring to is my excitement about cooking for only myself for the next 6 days while Wayne is away.  That means meal planning and grocery shopping was all about me today!  Wooo.  Let’s start from the beginning, though.  After getting up at 4:30 AM and returning home from the airport just shy of 6 AM, I was starving to death by 6:30. 

Breakfast was yet another oatmeal pancake.  Getting sick of seeing these yet??

1/3 cup quick oats, 1/4 cup egg whites, 1/2 tsp baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt. Topped with PB and light syrup.

I sat around for a little bit and decided to get my groceries around 7:45 AM.  Woot woot for 24-hour Cub Foods.  I was prepared with a detailed list, a few coupons, and a tad bit of excitement about filling the cart with stuff for me, mE, ME!!!!  muahahaha.  I emerged with all the stuff you see here… for a total of $37!  Cheapest grocery trip everrrrr.

 

Let’s list everything, shall we?  Humor me for a second 🙂

  • Mushrooms
  • 1 zucchini and 1 summer squash
  • Seedless cucumber
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 2 huge bags of spinach (they were BOGO)
  • 2 boxes of strawberries (BOGO again!)
  • 1 jalapeno
  • Deli chicken (coupon!)
  • Feta cheese
  • 1 onion
  • 1 red pepper
  • Ground coriander
  • Turmeric
  • Garam masala
  • 2 cans chickpeas
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • Extra-firm tofu
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 tubs of hummus (BOGO strikes again)

Lunch:  I swear I was hungry for lunch by 9:30, but I held out till about 11:30 for this beast of a salad.  This picture doesn’t even come close to showing how massive this salad was.  Contents:  Romaine, spinach, red peppers, green onions, light ranch, and leftover Inside Out Buffalo Chicken Wing (which was really one huge chicken breast since I didn’t cut mine in half like the recipe says!)

This puppy kept me full for hourssss, thank goodness.  Now let’s get to dinner.  I have been wanting to make this for awhile now.  I don’t have much experience with Indian food, and I’ve always been a little hesitant for some reason.  However, something about Jenna’s post sucked me in, and I vowed to make this dish someday.  I’m pretty sure Wayne would eat this, but he definitely wouldn’t consider it a meal, so now was the perfect time to experiment.  I was literally thinking about it last night while I tried to fall asleep….!

Channa Masala
Recipe from Eat, Live, Run

The only changes I made: 

  • I used 1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil instead of the butter (Sorry, Jenna!!)
  • I used only 1/8 tsp cayenne because my jalapeno was huge… perfect heat level for me!

Otherwise, I followed the recipe and lovely step-by-step instructions exactly. 

All I can say is LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.  I’ve never had turmeric, garam masala, or coriander before, so I kinda cringed a little when I dumped in all those spices.  All was good though, and the flavors really worked together well.  I especially loved the addition of the lemon juice at the end.  It really brightened it up and brought a fresh taste to the party!  Yummm, lots of leftovers to enjoy too! 

 

2 Responses to “All about ME!”

  1. […] was a baked sweet potato (1 hour 15 min at 375) topped with leftover Channa Masala, sour cream and cilantro.  On the side is literally half of one of those giant bags of spinach I […]

  2. fitandfortysomething Says:

    your dinner looks so good….must try this!


Leave a Reply

