WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Blog mods and a beast salad May 24, 2010

Filed under: Salad,Shrimp — WannaBe Chef @ 6:39 pm

Hello, friends and blends!  <— new term I recently learned… it means “blog friends”… creative, no?  Today I spent a lot of time messing around on this here bloggity.  I am really dumb when it comes to blog-building, but I was pretty proud of myself for figuring out what a “widget” is and actually adding/changing some of them!  So I ended up adding a couple new things in the green sidebar on the right, changing up the order a little bit, adding a new blue “contact” tab on top, updating my blogroll, and tweaking my “about me” section.  I also caved and started a Twitter account, which is another whole new world that I will have to decipher.  Someday, I think it would be fun to create my own layout instead of using a pre-fab wordpress one, but that will be a looong time from now!

*****

Moving on… tonight’s dinner was a big, refreshing salad.  It’s in the 90s outside (YUCK!), and even though we have central air, I wanted to make something cool and light tonight.  

Shrimp Taco Salad
Inspired by “A Reader’s Taco Salad” in May 2010 issue of Cooking Light (pg 216) 

Salad components:
cooked, deveined shrimp, rinsed with tails removed
romaine lettuce
canned corn, drained
black beans, drained and rinsed
avocado, diced
cilantro, chopped
tomatoes, chopped
crushed blue corn tortilla chips
low-fat sour cream, optional
shredded cheddar cheese, optional

Sauce/dressing components:
(This made enough for 2 large salads, if you’re making more, I suggest doubling the sauce)
1 Tbsp olive oil
juice from 1 lime
1-2 tsp chipotle pepper in adobo, finely chopped
2 tsp maple syrup
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp minced garlic

Basic Method:
-Combine the sauce ingredients in a small bowl, pour about half of it over the shrimp (I made 1 pound of shrimp)
-Build your salad on a large plate or in a large bowl
-Warm the shrimp through in a skillet over medium heat, stir in some cilantro if desired
-Top salads with warm shrimp, a little sour cream, and the remainder of the sauce mixture

 

5 Responses to “Blog mods and a beast salad”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Two things: First of all, that salad looks divine. I heart avocado and corn in my salads… with lots of tomatoes of course! Secondly, check out Amie’s blog at http://www.editandpost.com. She breaks down step-by-step how to customize a wordpress blog. When I have a little more time on my hands, I’m actually going to jump ship from blogger and come to wordpress so I can make my blog cuter!

    Oh- tell me how you like Twitter… I was completely against it at first, but I’m starting to soften.

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Thanks, Ash!! I want to make my blog cute but it’s kind of scary! You should definitely come to wordpress! I’ve seen a lot of ppl switch lately. Twitter is OK. I haven’t figured out the lingo yet, and everyone I’m following so far are bloggers (no real life friends yet haha!)

  2. Terri Says:

    Ok, that salad needs to be on the menu when we come to visit! AND the oatmeal pancakes as well.

  3. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i love it blends! cute and love that you worked on your blog-it is fun when you figure things out!

  4. Nicole Says:

    Blends – I like it!!

    That shrimp salad looks divine! If I hadn’t just thrown beef in a skillet for tacos, I’d have yanked shrimp out of the freezer!! Must try!


Leave a Reply

